Get Research Help
chat loading...
Mary Linden Sepulveda
Mary Sepulveda
Contact:
206.296.6209
Coordinator of Collection Development, Special Collections & Archives
Coordinator of Collection Development, Special Collections & Archives
Women -- Ebooks
- Burn it down!: feminist manifestos for the revolution by The most comprehensive collection of feminist manifestos, chronicling our rage and dreams from the nineteenth century to today In this landmark collection spanning three centuries and four waves of feminist activism and writing, Burn It Down! is a testament to what is possible when women are driven to the edge. The manifesto--raging and wanting, quarreling and provoking--has always played a central role in feminism, and it's the angry, brash feminism we need now. Collecting over seventy-five manifestos from around the world, Burn It Down! is a rallying cry and a call to action. Among this confrontational sisterhood, you'll find * "Dyke Manifesto" by the Lesbian Avengers * "The Ax Tampax Poem Feministo" by the Bloodsisters Project * "The Manifesto of Apocalyptic Witchcraft" by Peter Grey * "Simone de Beauvoir's pro-abortion Manifesto of the 343 * "Double Jeopardy: To Be Black and Female" by Frances M. Beal * "The Futurist Manifesto of Lust" by Valentine de Saint-Point * "Zapatista Women's Revolutionary Laws" * "Riot Grrrl Manifesto" by Bikini Kill * "Anarchy and the Sex Question" by Emma Goldman Breanne Fahs argues that we need manifestos in all their urgent rawness--their insistence that we have to act now, that we must face this, that the bleeding edge of rage and defiance ignites new and revolutionary possibilities is where new ideas are born.ISBN: 1788735404Publication Date: 2020
No turning back: the history of feminism and the future of women by
Repeatedly declared dead by the media, the women's movement has never been as vibrant as it is today. Indeed as Stanford professor and award-winning author Estelle B. Freedman argues in her compelling new book, feminism has reached a critical momentum from which there is no turning back. A truly global movement, as vital and dynamic in the developing world as it is in the West, feminism has helped women achieve authority in politics, sports, and business, and has mobilized public concern for once-taboo issues like rape, domestic violence, and breast cancer. And yet much work remains before women attain real equality. In this fascinating book, Freedman examines the historical forces that have fueled the feminist movement over the past two hundred years–and explores how women today are looking to feminism for new approaches to issues of work, family, sexuality, and creativity.Freedman begins with an incisive analysis of what feminism means and why it took root in western Europe and the United States at the end of the eighteenth century. The rationalist, humanistic philosophy of the Enlightenment, which ignited the American Revolution, also sparked feminist politics, inspiring such pioneers as Mary Wollstonecraft and Susan B. Anthony. Race has always been as important as gender in defining feminism, and Freedman traces the intricate ties between women's rights and abolitionism in the United States in the years before the Civil War and the long tradition of radical women of color, stretching back to the impassioned rhetoric of Sojourner Truth.As industrialism and democratic politics spread after World War II, feminist politics gained momentum and sophistication throughout the world. Their impact began to be felt in every aspect of society–from the workplace to the chambers of government to relations between the sexes. Because of feminism, Freedman points out, the line between the personal and the political has blurred, or disappeared, and issues once considered “merely” private–abortion, sexual violence, homosexuality, reproductive health, beauty and body image–have entered the public arena as subjects of fierce, ongoing debate. Freedman combines a scholar's meticulous research with a social critic's keen eye. Sweeping in scope, searching in its analysis, global in its perspective, No Turning Back will stand as a defining text in one of the most important social movements of all time.
ISBN: 9780307416247Publication Date: 2002- Rethinking American Women's Activism by In this enthralling narrative, Annelise Orleck chronicles the history of the American women's movement from the nineteenth century to the present. Starting with an incisive introduction that calls for a reconceptualization of American feminist history to encompass multiple streams of women's activism, she weaves the personal with the political, vividly evoking the events and people who participated in our era's most far-reaching social revolutions. In short, thematic chapters, Orleck enables readers to understand the impact of women's activism, and highlights how feminism has flourished through much of the past century within social movements that have too often been treated as completely separate. Showing that women's activism has taken many forms, has intersected with issues of class and race, and has continued during periods of backlash, Rethinking American Women's Activism is a perfect introduction to the subject for anyone interested in women's history and social movements.ISBN: 9780203069912Publication Date: 2014-10-17
Storming Caesars Palace by
In Storming Caesars Palace, historian Annelise Orleck tells the compelling story of how a group of welfare mothers built one of this country's most successful antipoverty programs. Declaring "We can do it and do it better," these women proved that poor mothers are the real experts on poverty. In 1972 they founded Operation Life, which was responsible for many firsts for the poor in Las Vegas-the first library, medical center, daycare center, job training, and senior citizen housing. By the late 1970s, Operation Life was bringing millions of dollars into the community. These women became influential in Washington, DC-respected and listened to by political heavyweights such as Daniel Patrick Moynihan, Ted Kennedy, and Jimmy Carter. Though they lost their funding with the country's move toward conservatism in the 1980s, their struggles and phenomenal triumphs still stand as a critical lesson about what can be achieved when those on welfare chart their own course.
ISBN: 9780807050316Publication Date: 2006-07-01
"We are all fast-food workers now" by
The story of low-wage workers rising up around the world to demand respect and a living wage. Tracing a new labor movement sparked and sustained by low-wage workers from across the globe, "We Are All Fast-Food Workers Now" is an urgent, illuminating look at globalization as seen through the eyes of workers-activists: small farmers, fast-food servers, retail workers, hotel housekeepers, home-healthcare aides, airport workers, and adjunct professors who are fighting for respect, safety, and a living wage. With original photographs by Liz Cooke and drawing on interviews with activists in many US cities and countries around the world, including Bangladesh, Cambodia, Mexico, South Africa, and the Philippines, it features stories of resistance and rebellion, as well as reflections on hope and change as it rises from the bottom up.
ISBN: 9780807081785Publication Date: 2018
Women and Social Movements in Latin America by
Women's grassroots activism in Latin America combines a commitment to basic survival for women and their children with a challenge to women's subordination to men. Women activists insist that issues such as rape, battering, and reproductive control cannot be divorced from women's concerns about housing, food, land, and medical care. This innovative, comparative study explores six cases of women's grassroots activism in Mexico, El Salvador, Brazil, and Chile. Lynn Stephen communicates the ideas, experiences, and perceptions of women who participate in collective action, while she explains the structural conditions and ideological discourses that set the context within which women act and interpret their experiences. She includes revealing interviews with activists, detailed histories of organizations and movements, and a theoretical discussion of gender, collective identity, and feminist anthropology and methods.
ISBN: 0292799896Publication Date: 1997-01-01
Key Source : Subscription Databases
- Women and Social Movements, International— 1840 to PresentA primary source collection (ProQuest).Through the writings of women activists, their personal letters and diaries, and the proceedings of conferences at which pivotal decisions were made, this collection lets you see how women’s social movements shaped much of the events and attitudes that have defined modern life.
- Everyday Life and Women in America, c1800 1920 This link opens in a new windowA sub-collection of AM Explorer, these unique primary source materials include the study of American social, cultural and popular history in the 19th and early 20th centuries
- Empire Online This link opens in a new windowA sub-collection of AM Explorer, these primary manuscript and rare print sources document cultural contacts, literature of empire, the visible empire and imperial aspects of race, class and religion from 1492-1962.
- Gender: Identity and Social Change This link opens in a new windowA sub-collection of AM Explorer, this includes essential primary sources documenting the changing representations and lived experiences of gender roles and relations, and the struggle for women’s rights, from the 19th century to the present
Key Source: Digital Collections
- Archive of Women's Political CommunicationSpeeches and political ads for more than 300 women candidates that are easily accessible through the online archives. All include a transcript of the text and many also feature video.
- Black Women's Suffrage CollectionA collection from the Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) website.
- Charlotte Perkins Gilman PapersDigitized collection of letters, writings and drawings.
- College Women: Documenting the History of Women in Higher EducationA collection of diaries, letters, scrapbooks, and photographs from the archives the Seven Sisters colleges.
- Digital Public Library of America-WomenIncludes images, texts, and sound/video clips.
- Discovering American Women's History OnlineThis database provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States. These diverse collections range from Ancestral Pueblo pottery to Katrina Thomas's photographs of ethnic weddings from the late 20th century.
- Documents from the Women's Liberation MovementThis site documents various aspects of the Women's Liberation Movement in the United States, focusing specifically on the radical origins of this movement during the late 1960s and early 1970s. Items range from radical theoretical writings to humourous plays to the minutes of an actual grassroots group.
- Emma Goldman PapersDocuments, images and selected writings of an early advocate of free speech, birth control, women's equality and independence, and union organization.
- Epistolae: Medieval Women's Letters"A collection of letters to and from women in the Middle Ages, from the 4th to the 13th century. The letters, written in Latin, are linked to the names of the women involved, with English translations and, where available, biographical sketches of the women and some description of the subject matter or the historic context of the letter."
- Feeding AmericaAn online collection of some of the most influential and important American cookbooks from the late 18th to early 20th century.
- The Feminist Chronices, 1953-1993This site chronicles the progression of the U.S. feminist movement from 1953-1993. Part III includes links to primary source documents.
- From Typist to Trailblazer: The Evolving View of Women in the WorkforceCollection of 120 declassified documents (studies, memos, letters, and other official records) documenting the CIA's efforts to examine, address, and improve the status of women employees from 1947 to today.
- Gifts of Speech: Women's Speeches from Around the WorldOutstanding collection of 400+ speeches from influential women, dating from 1848-present
- Home Economics Archive: Research, Tradition, and History (HEARTH)A full text collection of books and journals in Home Economics and related disciplines, published between 1850 and 1950. Also includes bibliographies on the field.
- Human Rights Library (Univ. of Minn.)Links to many of the most important human rights treaties. When possible links to authoritative ratification information.
- Internet Women's History SourcebookOnline sourcebook attempts to present online documents and secondary discussions which reflect the various ways of looking at the history of women within broadly defined historical periods and areas.
- Library of Congress Digital Collections: Women's HistoryCollections of women's history documents, from the Library of Congress
- Monastic MatrixExcellent site dedicated to the study of women's religious communities from 400 to 1600CE. Includes a separate section of primary sources, which can be browsed by title/author/community/region/century. Search function also available.
- Salem Witch Trials: Documentary Archive and Transcription ProjectDigitized documents, maps and images.
- Witchcraft CollectionAn online selecton of titles from the Cornell University Library's extensive collection of materials on Witchcraft. The Witchcraft Collection documents the earliest and the latest manifestations of the belief in witchcraft as well as its geographical boundaries, and elaborates this history with works on canon law, the Inquisition, torture, demonology, trial testimony, and narratives. The collection focuses on witchcraft not as folklore or anthropology, but as theology and as religious heresy.
- Women's Travel DiariesDiaries written by British and American women who documented their travels to places around the globe, including India, the West Indies, countries in Europe, Africa, and the Middle East, as well as around the United States.
- Women in World HistoryCollection of 200+ primary sources from all geographic areas. Use the advanced search to limit to type, time period, region and/or topic.
- Women Making History and Culture: 1963-1982Online audio collection devoted to women’s history. These recordings include interviews, panel discussions, literary and musical performances, news coverage, and other programing broadcast between the mid-1950s and the 1980s. Currently includes 26 files, with more to come. Requires RealAudio.
- Women Working, 1800-1930Access to digitized books, manuscripts and images from the collections of Harvard University Libraries and Museums on women in the U.S. economy from 1870-1930. Searchable, or browsable by topic, individual, dates and events, or organization.