"The CRDL promotes an enhanced understanding of the Movement trough its three principal components: 1) a digital video archive delivering 30 hours of historical news film allowing learners to be nearly eyewitnesses to key events of the Civil Rights Movement, 2) a civil rights portal providing a seamless virtual library on the Movement drawing on holdings from more than 75 libraries and allied organizations from across the nation, and 3) instructional materials to facilitate the use of the video content in the learning process."

Originally a foundation begun in 1994 by Steven Spielberg to gather orgal histories of the Holocaust, this archive now housed at USC contains 52,000 video testimonies in 32 languages, representing 56 countries; it is the largest archive of its kind in the world. Testimonies are primarily from Jewish survivors, but also contains testimonies from homosexuals, Roma and Sinti survivors, Jehovah Witnesses and more

EUscreen offers free online access to videos, stills, texts and audio from European broadcasters and audiovisual archives. Explore selected content from early 1900s until today.

French historical videos and audios from the Institut national de l'audiovisuel

The C-SPAN Archives records, indexes, and archives all C-SPAN programming for historical, educational, research, and archival uses. Every C-SPAN program aired since 1987

The Black Abolitionist Digital Archive is a collection of over 800 speeches by antebellum blacks and approximately 1,000 editorials from the period. These important documents provide a portrait of black involvement in the anti-slavery movement; scans of these documents are provided as images and PDF files. Audio files and link to website in the Second Life 3D environment.

Internet Archive contains over a million digital movies uploaded by users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts. Many of these videos are available for free download.

A Documentary project by the Illinois Institute of Technology

(testimonies not available for interlibrary loan)

"The testimonies now available are drawn from a major oral history programme - The Living Memory of the Jewish Community - which between 1987 and 2000 gathered 186 audio life story interviews with Jewish survivors of the Holocaust and their children. It was initiated by National Life Stories based in the BL's oral history section and funded by a number of organizations including the Harold Hyam Wingate Foundation, the John S Cohen Foundation and the Porjes Charitable Trust."

Baylor University's digitization of this Civil War Atlas

A cooperative program between WSU and UW, includes a search tool to access maps from these two collections

The goal of the Historical Topographic Map Collection is to scan all scales and all editions of the more than 193,000 topographic maps published by the USGS since the inception of the topographic mapping program in 1884.

Northwestern University

Digital mapping of the loss of Indian land in the United States from the early days of the Republic to the Present. Georgia Center for Digital History

This is a database of online photographs, maps, plans, and narrative textual information about the many cathedrals in France, and some in England, that began to be constructed in the 12th-13th centuries. It information about the structure, floor plans of the cathedral.

National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) "brings masterpieces of American art into classrooms and libraries nationwide."

Historic Photographs from the Denver Public Library

NYPL Digital Gallery provides free and open access to over 800,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more.

from The Auschwitz Album:The Story of a Transport

Digitized images of "over 400 photographs produced by the Nazi Government's Ministry of Public Enlightenment and Propaganda depicting the Third Reich at the height of its power, and attributed to the studio of Heinrich Hoffmann, Adolf Hitler's personal photographer.'

This census browser (Uof Virginia Library) describes the people and economy of the U.S. as well as for each state and country from 1790 to 1970.