Get Research Help
chat loading...
Mary Linden Sepulveda
Mary Sepulveda
Contact:
206.296.6209
Coordinator of Collection Development, Special Collections & Archives
Coordinator of Collection Development, Special Collections & Archives
Key Primary Sources: Subscription Databases
- The First World War This link opens in a new windowA sub-collection of AM Explorer, this portal showcases First World War primary sources. From personal collections and rare printed material to military files, artwork and audio-visual files, content highlights the experiences of soldiers, civilians and governments on both sides of a the war.
- Empire Online This link opens in a new windowA sub-collection of AM Explorer, this collection of primary sources includes manuscript and rare printed sources documenting cultural contacts, literature of empire, the visible empire and imperial aspects of race, class and religion from 1492-1962.
- Everyday Life and Women in America, c1800 1920 This link opens in a new windowA sub-collection of AM Explorer, this primary source collection includes material for the study of American social, cultural, and popular history in the 19th and early 20th centuries
Primary Sources : More Digital Collections
- AM Explorer This link opens in a new windowAccess millions of pages of primary source collections across the entire portfolio of Adam Matthew Digital, spanning content from the 15th-21st centuries.
- EURODOCSOne of the best places to start for all time periods of European history. Extensive collection of primary sources and links to other sites. Browse by broad era (prehistory/ancient, medieval/renaissance, modern) or by country.
- Europeana 1914-1918 – untold stories & official histories of WW1This link is part of the EuroDocs digital archive collection that brings together personal items contributed by the public, national library collections, and film archives to offer a unique perspective of the First World War, showing it from every side of the battle lines and with insights from every point of view.
- First World War.comA collection of primary documents that mark the course of the war. Included are archive documents signed in the late 1830s which bore relevance to the outbreak of war some 75 years later, as well as memos, letters, treaties and the text of speeches throughout the war and beyond.
- Imperial War Museum: First World War GalleriesWebsite of IWM London provides selected photographs and newsreels of World War 1.
- League of Nations: Statistical and Disarmament DocumentsThis collection contains the full text of 260 League of Nations document, with a focus on three areas: the founding of the League, international statistics published by the League, and the League's work toward international disarmament.
- National Archives (U.K.)List of online exhibitions; browse by name or historical period. Includes selections dating from 1066 through the 20th century.
- Propaganda Postcards of the Great WarThis Library of Congress collection features a collection of war-themed postal cards produced during World War 1 (1914-1919).
- The Stars and Stripes: The American Soldiers' Newspaper of World War IThe newspaper's mission was to provide scattered troops with a sense of unity and an understanding of their part in the overall war effort. Part of the Library of Congress Digital Collections the date coverage is February 8, 1918, to June 13, 1919.
- War Posters and PostcardsPosters from government, commercial and charitable organizations. Subject matter is diverse, covering such topics as military recruitment, rationing, films/theatre, anti-war movements and many others.
- Western European Theater Political Pamphlet CollectionPamphlets collected by the Princeton University Library starting from the outbreak of World War I. There is limited access through the finding aids for digital images in this pamphlet collection published in Europe during and immediately after World War I. They cover a broad range of topics including the economy, the press, the military, arms, territorial disputes, and others. The collection also includes speeches, sermons, bulletins, calendars, and songbooks. Covers 1894-1918.
- Women Working, 1800-1930Access to digitized books, manuscripts and images from the collections of Harvard University Libraries and Museums on women in the U.S. economy from 1870-1930. Searchable, or browsable by topic, individual, dates and events, or organization.
- World War History: Newspaper Clippings, 1914 to 1926Newspaper clippings from the 400-volume, World War History: Daily Records and Comments as Appeared in American and Foreign Newspapers, 1914-1926. "The clippings yield significant information about the political, social, cultural, and economic impact of the war as it is taking place and its aftermath....and contain war-related editorials, features, cartoons, photos, maps, and more." [Library of Congress Digital Collections]
- World War I Collection"Provides a sampling of UW-Madison's World War I Special Collection...Most of these materials were acquired by the University during or in the immediate aftermath of the war and they represent a direct and often very passionate or partisan viewpoint of that conflict." [limited access]
- World War I Documentary ArchiveContains full text, images, biographies, personal reminiscences and links to other web resources.
- World War I Postcards from the Bowman Gray CollectionFeatures a collection of war-themed cards produced in Great Britain, France, Italy, Germany, Russia, and the U.S. during World War One (1914-1918).
- World War I in Photos: Global Conflict [The Atlantic]Photos from Part 8 of a 10 part series on WWI. [Alan Taylor; The Atlantic; April 27,2014 issue]
- World War I in Photos [The Atlantic]Link to the 10 part series of World War I photos by Alan Taylor. [The Atlantic; April 2014]
Selected citations by permission of UCSanDiego; Kelly L. Smith https://ucsd.libguides.com/primarysources/home
Video & Films
- American Experience. The Great War. Part one by Drawing on unpublished diaries, memoirs and letters, The Great War tells the rich and complex story of World War I through the voices of nurses, journalists, aviators and the American troops who came to be known as “doughboys.” The series explores the experiences of African-American and Latino soldiers, suffragists, Native American “code talkers” and others whose participation in the war to “make the world safe for democracy” has been largely forgotten. The Great War explores how a brilliant PR man bolstered support for the war in a country hesitant to put lives on the line for a foreign conflict; how President Woodrow Wilson steered the nation through years of neutrality, only to reluctantly lead America into the bloodiest conflict the world had ever seen, thereby transforming the United States into a dominant player on the international stage; and how the ardent patriotism and determination to support America’s crusade for liberty abroad led to one of the most oppressive crackdowns on civil liberties at home in U.S. history. It is a story of heroism and sacrifice that would ultimately claim 15 million lives and profoundly change the world forever.Publication Date: 2018
- American Experience. The Great War. Part two by Drawing on unpublished diaries, memoirs and letters, The Great War tells the rich and complex story of World War I through the voices of nurses, journalists, aviators and the American troops who came to be known as “doughboys.” The series explores the experiences of African-American and Latino soldiers, suffragists, Native American “code talkers” and others whose participation in the war to “make the world safe for democracy” has been largely forgotten. The Great War explores how a brilliant PR man bolstered support for the war in a country hesitant to put lives on the line for a foreign conflict; how President Woodrow Wilson steered the nation through years of neutrality, only to reluctantly lead America into the bloodiest conflict the world had ever seen, thereby transforming the United States into a dominant player on the international stage; and how the ardent patriotism and determination to support America’s crusade for liberty abroad led to one of the most oppressive crackdowns on civil liberties at home in U.S. history. It is a story of heroism and sacrifice that would ultimately claim 15 million lives and profoundly change the world forever.Publication Date: 2018
- American Experience. The Great War. Part three by Drawing on unpublished diaries, memoirs and letters, The Great War tells the rich and complex story of World War I through the voices of nurses, journalists, aviators and the American troops who came to be known as “doughboys.” The series explores the experiences of African-American and Latino soldiers, suffragists, Native American “code talkers” and others whose participation in the war to “make the world safe for democracy” has been largely forgotten. The Great War explores how a brilliant PR man bolstered support for the war in a country hesitant to put lives on the line for a foreign conflict; how President Woodrow Wilson steered the nation through years of neutrality, only to reluctantly lead America into the bloodiest conflict the world had ever seen, thereby transforming the United States into a dominant player on the international stage; and how the ardent patriotism and determination to support America’s crusade for liberty abroad led to one of the most oppressive crackdowns on civil liberties at home in U.S. history. It is a story of heroism and sacrifice that would ultimately claim 15 million lives and profoundly change the world forever.Publication Date: 2018
- British PatheWar Archives: Historical film vignettes on the impact of The Great War/World War One, including stories of animals,battles,psychological scars of warfare and more.Free limited trials; or access through uTube
- Testament of Youth [streaming video]Testament of Youth is a powerful story of love, war and remembrance, based on the First World War memoir by Vera Brittain, which has become the classic testimony of that war from a woman's point of view.
Secondary Sources : E-books
Broken Nation by ISBN: 1741751381Publication Date: 2014-02-01The Great War is, for many Australians, the event that defined the nation. T
The Cambridge History of the First World War: Volume 1, Global War by
This first volume of The Cambridge History of the First World War provides a comprehensive account of the war's military history. An international team of leading historians charts how a war made possible by globalization and imperial expansion unfolded into catastrophe, growing year by year in scale and destructive power far beyond that which anyone had anticipated in 1914. Adopting a global perspective, the volume analyses the spatial impact of the war and the subsequent ripple effects that occurred both regionally and across the world. It explores how imperial powers devoted vast reserves of manpower and material to their war efforts and how, by doing so, they changed the political landscape of the world order. It also charts the moral, political and legal implications of the changing character of war and, in particular, the collapse of the distinction between civilian and military targets.
ISBN: 1316504433Publication Date: 2016-02-04
A Companion to World War I by
A Companion to the First World War brings together an international team of distinguished historians who provide a series of original and thought-provoking essays on one of the most devastating events in modern history. Comprises 38 essays by leading scholars who analyze the current state of historical scholarship on the First World War Provides extensive coverage spanning the pre-war period, the military conflict, social, economic, political, and cultural developments, and the war's legacy Offers original perspectives on themes as diverse as strategy and tactics, war crimes, science and technology, and the arts Selected as a 2011 Outstanding Academic Title by CHOICE
ISBN: 9781444323641Publication Date: 2010-03-16
Gender and the Great War by ISBN: 9780190271077Publication Date: 2017-06-30Discusses the role of gender history in shaping our understanding of this pivotal international event.
The Great War: a Combat History of the First World War by
World War I altered the landscape of the modern world in every conceivable arena. Millions died; empires collapsed; new ideologies and political movements arose; poison gas, warplanes, tanks, submarines, and other technologies appeared. "Total war" emerged as a grim, mature reality. In The Great War, Peter Hart provides a masterful combat history of this global conflict. Focusing on the decisive engagements, Hart explores the immense challenges faced by the commanders on all sides. He surveys the belligerent nations, analyzing their strengths, weaknesses, and strategic imperatives. Russia, for example, was obsessed with securing an exit from the Black Sea, while France--having lost to Prussia in 1871, before Germany united--constructed a network of defensive alliances, even as it held a grudge over the loss of Alsace-Lorraine. Hart offers deft portraits of the commanders, the prewar plans, and the unexpected obstacles and setbacks that upended the initial operations. He concentrates on the Western and Eastern fronts, but also pays attention to important peripheral events, such as the war at sea, the fighting in Mesopotamia and Palestine, and the Italian front. In the Great War, for the first time, warfare ceased to consist of armies hunting for each other across the landscape and meeting in brief, decisive battles; now continuous lines stretched from the Channel to the Alps, from the Alps to the Adriatic. Hart also examines the changing weapons and tactics, from pioneering British tanks to Germany's devastating infiltration techniques. In the final analysis, Hart argues that France provided the bulwark of the forces and determination that defeated the Central Powers, but Britain tipped the balance, with the crucial help of American intervention. Coming just in time for the centennial of 1914, The Great War provides the definitive one-volume account of the twentieth century's defining event.
ISBN: 1299591647Publication Date: 2013-01-01
India, Empire, and First World War Culture by
Based on ten years of research, Santanu Das's India, Empire, and First World War Culture: Writings, Images, and Songs recovers the sensuous experience of combatants, non-combatants and civilians from undivided India in the 1914-1918 conflict and their socio-cultural, visual, and literary worlds. Around 1.5 million Indians were recruited, of whom over a million served abroad. Das draws on a variety of fresh, unusual sources - objects, images, rumours, streetpamphlets, letters, diaries, sound-recordings, folksongs, testimonies, poetry, essays, and fiction - to produce the first cultural and literary history, moving from recruitment tactics in villages through sepoy traces and feelings in battlefields, hospitals, and POW camps to post-war reflections on Europe and empire. Combining archival excavation in different countries across several continents with investigative readings of Gandhi, Kipling, Iqbal, Naidu, Nazrul, Tagore, and Anand, this imaginative study opens up the worlds of sepoys and labourers, men and women, nationalists, artists, and intellectuals, trying to make sense of home and the world in times of war.
ISBN: 9781139963244Publication Date: 2018-08-31
Nurse Writers of the Great War by ISBN: 9781784996949Publication Date: 2016-02-15The First World War was the first 'total war, its industrial weaponry damaging and killing millions of men. This book opens a window into insights and nature of nurses and the impact of warfare.
Postcards from the Trenches by ISBN: 1350015768Publication Date: 2018-11-01Postcards with vivid images depicting the daily realities and tragedies of war, a soldier's testimony of the Great War.
Strangers on the Western Front : Chinese Workers in the Great War by ISBN: 0674049993Publication Date: 2011-02-18Illuminates the essential role that Chinese laborers played in modern China's search for a new national identity on the global stage.
Voices from the Front : An Oral History of the Great War by ISBN: 0190464933Publication Date: 2016-03-01
Women and the First World War by
The First World War was the first modern, total war, one requiring the mobilisation of both civilians and combatants. Particularly in Europe, the main theatre of the conflict, this war demanded the active participation of both men and women. Women and the First World War provides an introduction to the experiences and contributions of women during this important turning point in history. In addition to exploring women's relationship to the war in each of the main protagonist states, the book also looks at the wide-ranging effects of the war on women in Africa Asia, Australia, New Zealand, and North America. Topical in its approach, the book highlights: the heated public debates about women's social, cultural and political roles that the war inspired their varied experiences of war women's representation in propaganda their roles in peace movements and revolutionary activity that grew out of the war the consequences of the war for women in its immediate aftermath Containing a document section providing a wide range of sources from first-hand accounts, a Chronology and Glossary, Women and the First World War is an ideal text for students studying the First World War or the role of women in the twentieth century.
ISBN: 9781317875789Publication Date: 2013-11-04
Work or Fight! Race, Gender, and the Draft in World War One by
During World War I the U.S. demanded that all able-bodied men work or fight. White men who were husbands and fathers, owned property or worked at approved jobs had the benefits of citizenship without fighting. Others were often barred from achieving these benefits. This book tells the stories of those affected by the Selective Service System.
ISBN: 1281368865Publication Date: 2008-07-08
Historic Microfilm in the Seattle U Library Collection
- The First World War, a documentary record. Series one, European War, 1914-1919, the War Reserve Collection (WRA-WRE) from Cambridge University Library [microform].Call Number: D505 .F57 1991 5th fl114 microfilm reels
2nd Floor-Reference Books D505 .F57 1991 pt.3-4 Guide