Covers 1548-1584

full texts of more than 7,500 of Charles Darwin’s letters, and find information on 7,500 more. Includes the omplete transcripts of all known letters Darwin wrote and received up to the year 1869. Website also collects photographs of Darwin

An exhaustive collection of primary docs from late Roman through 20thc. Searchable by tile, keyword, category or chronologically.

Documents and other primary sources on European Integration Studies.

"The Digital Scriptorium is a growing image database of medieval and renaissance manuscripts that unites scattered resources from many institutions into an international tool for teaching and scholarly research. "

Links to sites with primary historical documents for European countries and regions. Includes prehistoric and ancient Europe.

the Europeana Foundation aims to be a comprehensive collection of the personal histories of those involved in or affected by the war. It includes approximately 400,000 resources from eight countries and some 660 hours of film from the European Film Gateway 1914 project. Registration allows you to submit a personal history which is vetted by the Foundation.

online access to digitized primary sources on the history of Europe.

"Online portal offers quick and easy access to the collections of the 48 National Libraries of Europe and leading European Research Libraries. Users can cross-search and reuse over 18,730,425 digital items and 119,419,609 bibliographic records."

Developed by Paul Hallsall at Fordham, this aim of this resource to provide teachers and students of Medieval history with an online collection of historical documents in translation.

The NRA contains information on the nature and location of manuscripts and historical records that relate to British history.The indexes to the National Register of Archives contain references to papers of approximately 150,000 corporate bodies, persons and families relating to British history with a further 100,000 connected records.

Portal to the Archives of Spain and their digital Collections. Includes Archivo General de Indes and Archivo Historica National.

Covers 1915-1983

Includes journals and debates of the House of Commons and House of Lords, national laws, parliament documents from the medieval and Elizabethan eras, and more.

Links to external websites for legislation, debates, working papers, proceedings and journals, and judgements of the British parliament (Welsh, Scottish, and Northern Irish parliamentary documents).

British Parliamentary Debates

Sponsored by the Univ of Birmingham, Leeds, Manchester and Oxford, site had open access to the 18th and 19thc journals: Annual Register, Blackwood's Edinburgh Magazine, Gentleman's Magazine, Notes and Queries, Philosophical Trans. of the Royal Society and The Builder

An Index and Paraphrase of Printed Year Book Reports, 1268 - 1535

compiled by David J. Seipp
(Seipp's Abridgement)

The Records of the Parliaments of Scotland to 1707 (RPS) is a fully searchable database containing the proceedings of the Scottish parliament from the first surviving act of 1235 to the union of 1707

1993-

Digitisation project of parliamentary papers and pamphlets from the London School of Economics

"Consists of nearly 3,000 texts, ranging from classic works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing. The eighteenth, nineteenth and twentieth centuries are about equally represented, with a smaller selection of seventeenth century texts as well as some medieval and Renaissance texts. Genres include novels, verse, theater, journalism, essays, correspondence, and treatises. "

Digital Medieval Manuscripts from French Libraries.

"About the collections
The French Revolution Digital Archive (FRDA) is a multi-year collaboration of the Stanford University Libraries and the Bibliothèque nationale de France (BnF) to produce a digital version of the key research sources of the French Revolution and make them available to the international scholarly community. The archive is based around two main resources, the Archives parlementaires and a vast corpus of images first brought together in 1989 and known as the Images de la Revolution française."---http://frda.stanford.edu/

Emory University

Digital collection. Ball State University

Bibliotheque nationale de France

Contains more than 600 primary documents. George Mason University

This is a database of online photographs, maps, plans, and narrative textual information about the many cathedrals in France, and some in England, that began to be constructed in the 12th-13th centuries. It information about the structure, floor plans of the cathedral.

Over 3000 documents from the Conseil d'Etat covering 1800-1814

From the Austrian National Library, access to historical (German language) newspapers and magazines

ALO is a digital library with more than 15.000 documents from the 11. Century up to the present. Books, journals, newspapers, manuscripts, theses and scientific essays are available in digitized form or as PDF.

Bavarian Digital Collection: Medieval Manuscripts, Newspapers and other digitization projects

CIA. Documents, essays and overviews from the eleven U.S. Government organizations that provide the background and the political ramifications of the Wall's construction.

German Federal Archives established in 1919. Includes digitized Cabinet minutes from 1949- and material from the Weimar Republic

100 Jewish Newspapers published between 1806-1938

Three East German Newspapers
Neues Deutschland [ND] (23. April 1946 - 3. Oktober 1990)
Berliner Zeitung [BZ] (21. Mai 1945 - 31. Dezember 1993)
DFG-Logo
Neue Zeit [NZ] (22. Juli 1945 - 5. Juli 1994)

Digitized images of "over 400 photographs produced by the Nazi Government's Ministry of Public Enlightenment and Propaganda depicting the Third Reich at the height of its power, and attributed to the studio of Heinrich Hoffmann, Adolf Hitler's personal photographer.'

Contains several German primary history sources from the nineteenth and twentieth centuries that have been translated into English

German History in Documents and Images (GHDI) is a comprehensive collection of primary source materials documenting Germany's political, social, and cultural history from 1500 to the present. It comprises original German texts, all of which are accompanied by new English translations, and a wide range of visual imagery. The materials are presented in ten sections, which have been compiled by leading scholars.

Calvin College.

"German History in Documents and Images (GHDI) is a comprehensive collection of primary source materials documenting Germany's political, social, and cultural history from 1500 to the present. It comprises original German texts, all of which are accompanied by new English translations, and a wide range of visual imagery."

Munich Digitization Center (MDZ) handles the digitization and online publication of the cultural heritage preserved by the Bavarian State Library and by other institutions. It provides one of the largest and fastest growing digital collections in Germany, now comprising 957,855 titles available online.

Nazi Women's Magazine with issues from 1941-1945

Major Spanish digital project to digitized newspapers from all of the Spanish provinces with starting dates of some papers in the 18thc.

Barcelona newspapers with access back to 1881

Major portal. Access to over 202 Spanish repositories and 4,581,284 digital objects.

"From the University of Notre Dame's Harley L. McDevitt Inquisition Collection; the collection consists of several hundred items, from printed volumes to unique manuscripts and images, all bearing some relationship to the general theme of "inquisition."

Portal to the Archives of Spain and their digital Collections. Includes Archivo General de Indes and Archivo Historica National.

16th century Swiss rare books

Contains 5 newspapers from 1839-1847, plus Confédéré 1861 -

Foreign policy documents from 1848-1961

Digital Collections include Manuscripts (Charles V), journals, music and other material

Covers 1548-1584

1814-1995

Illegal wartime newspaper 1940-45

Dutch language newspapers from 1618-1995

The Rijks Geschiedkundige Publicatiën (RGP) is a series of source editions, the first volume of which was published in 1905. Today, the series comprises 450 volumes that contain documents about the history of the Netherlands. Includes some medieval documents.

Published in Bologna in 1645-1796

Registration required. Digitized Medici documents from the 14th to 16th centuries

1948-1996 legislative debates and documents

213 posters, placards, and broadsides comprising one of the largest assemblages of such posters outside of Russia. NYPL

Declassified CIA documents on the former Soviet Union produced by the CIA between 1951-1991.

From the USC collection, the collection consists of Russian satirical journals which were produced during the revolutionary upheaval of 1905-1907

Translations of over 3,000 Soviet diplomatic communications from 1943-1980 are the basis of U.S. Army's Signal Intelligence Service's program VENONA

Digital Library coordinated by the National Library of the Czech Republic. Create a free account for access to holdings from this Library. Scope of holdings is broader than Czech Republic.

Danish and Swedish legal documents on witch trials

From the Austrian National Library, access to historical (German language) newspapers and magazines

French Humor Magazines digitized by the Univ of Minn

Prussian Journals
Provinzial-Correspondenz (PC) (1863-1884)
Neueste Mittheilungen (NM) (1882-1894)
Teltower Kreisblatt (TK) (1856-1896)

Newspaper; 1945-1989

Deutschen Exilarchivs 1933-1945, a project of the German National Library

100 Jewish Newspapers published between 1806-1938

Three East German Newspapers
Neues Deutschland [ND] (23. April 1946 - 3. Oktober 1990)
Berliner Zeitung [BZ] (21. Mai 1945 - 31. Dezember 1993)
DFG-Logo
Neue Zeit [NZ] (22. Juli 1945 - 5. Juli 1994)

Nazi Women's Magazine with issues from 1941-1945

Contains 5 newspapers from 1839-1847, plus Confédéré 1861 -

Dutch language newspapers from 1618-1995

Barcelona newspapers with access back to 1881

Major Spanish digital project to digitized newspapers from all of the Spanish provinces with starting dates of some papers in the 18thc.

Published in Bologna in 1645-1796

Sponsored by the Univ of Birmingham, Leeds, Manchester and Oxford, site had open access to the 18th and 19thc journals: Annual Register, Blackwood's Edinburgh Magazine, Gentleman's Magazine, Notes and Queries, Philosophical Trans. of the Royal Society and The Builder

Originally a foundation begun in 1994 by Steven Spielberg to gather orgal histories of the Holocaust, this archive now housed at USC contains 52,000 video testimonies in 32 languages, representing 56 countries; it is the largest archive of its kind in the world. Testimonies are primarily from Jewish survivors, but also contains testimonies from homosexuals, Roma and Sinti survivors, Jehovah Witnesses and more

A Documentary project by the Illinois Institute of Technology

(testimonies not available for interlibrary loan)

from The Auschwitz Album:The Story of a Transport

"The testimonies now available are drawn from a major oral history programme - The Living Memory of the Jewish Community - which between 1987 and 2000 gathered 186 audio life story interviews with Jewish survivors of the Holocaust and their children. It was initiated by National Life Stories based in the BL's oral history section and funded by a number of organizations including the Harold Hyam Wingate Foundation, the John S Cohen Foundation and the Porjes Charitable Trust."