Get Research Help
Mary Linden Sepulveda
Coordinator of Collection Development, Special Collections & Archives
Finding Books in the Library
Search for books by topic, title, author, and more in the Lemieux Library catalog.
You can request books from other institutions through this catalog. Keep in mind that it can take several days for requested books to arrive.
Most books pertaining to Religious Studies are housed on the third floor of Lemieux Library. Reference books- for in-library use only- are housed on the second floor.
Under the Library of Congress Classification System, books in the Religious Studies group are labeled as follows:
BL: Religions, Mythology, Rationalism
BM: Judaism
BP: Islam, Bahaism, Theosophy, etc.
BQ: Buddhism
BR: Christianity
BS: The Bible
BT: Doctrinal Theology
BV: Practical Theology
BX: Christian Denominations
The Library of Congress provides more detailed information about book classification within each category.
Suggested Reference Books
Lemieux Library has a large collection of books on Catholicism and world religion. If you would like assistance finding books or other resources, contact a reference librarian.
New Catholic EncyclopediaCall Number: BX841 .N44 2003ISBN: 9780787640064The New Catholic Encyclopedia is available online and on the second floor of the library for in-library use only.
A Dictionary of the Bible by ISBN: 9780199543991The Dictionary of the Bible is an online resource with brief entries describing major characters, places, and events in the Bible.
The Atlas of the Bible by Call Number: BS620 .G752 1956Color illustrations with information on important locations in the Bible.
Requests
- Recommended ReadsThink the library should purchase a book or other item for its collection? Share your suggestions with us!