Get Research Help
chat loading...
Mary Linden Sepulveda
Mary Sepulveda
Contact:
206.296.6209
Coordinator of Collection Development, Special Collections & Archives
Coordinator of Collection Development, Special Collections & Archives
About the Papacy
The term "papacy" refers to the office held by the Pope, the head of the Roman Catholic Church. The Pope may also be referred to as the Bishop of Rome or the supreme pontiff. 266 men have been designated as heads of the Catholic Church, beginning with Saint Peter. Pope Francis, the current pope, has held the office since 2013.
Web Resources
- Oxford Dictionary of PopesComprehensive, searchable dictionary with background information for all Popes. SU login required.
- New Advent List of PopesFreely accessible list of popes and basic biographical information.
- Vatican ArchiveIncludes documents from the II Vatican council and the Catechism of the Catholic Church translated into several different languages. Several translations of the Bible are also included.
- Digital Vatican LibraryAccess digitized items held in the Vatican Library.
- The Holy SeeThe official website for the Vatican and the Pope.
- ZenitZenit is a nonprofit group that publishes and comments on the actions and words of the Pope. The site also includes opinion pieces on issues and news.
Books @ Lemieux Library
The Wisdom of the Popes by Call Number: BX1751.2 .C72 2000ISBN: 0312253567A collection of writings from Popes throughout the history of the papacy.
A History of the Popes by Call Number: BX955.3 .O43 2010ISBN: 9781580512275Examines the role of the Pope in major events throughout the church's history.
Papal Genealogy by Call Number: CS39 .P64 1998ISBN: 9780786403158Traces the lineage of Popes from the Church's foundation to the end of the 20th century.
Pope Francis by Call Number: BX1378.7 .L69 2013Publication Date: 2013An exploration of Pope Francis' Jesuit background and how it influences his leadership of the church.
