A word about the Encyclopedias in this Guide
This guide attempts to highlight some of the more widely used online encyclopedias available through library. Please consult the library catalog for the full collection of our print and online encyclopedias.
But why should you use encyclopedias?
- Save your self time by getting an overview of a topic by using an encyclopedia. Most encyclopedias have short essays on the topics contained in the resource.
- Learn new terms and find new keywords. Encyclopedia articles will quickly introduce you to key terms and concepts on your topics.
- Discover the experts in the field. Encyclopedia articles are often written by experts in the field. The references at the end of the articles will provide you with a path for additional references.
Starting Points
- Britannica Online Academic Edition This link opens in a new windowThe foundation of Britannica Online is the Encyclopaedia Britannica, the largest, most authoritative encyclopedia in the world. Besides topical articles, it includes maps, photos, illustrations, videos, multimedia clips, and yearbooks from 1993 onward.
- International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences This link opens in a new windowContains articles on a wide array of social and behavioral science topics including economics, sociology, and psychology.
- Sage Knowledge This link opens in a new windowFull text reference works published by Sage Publisher.
- Gale Virtual Reference Ebooks This link opens in a new windowElectronic reference books for business, religion, medicine, social sciences, history, etc.
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowAccess to multiple dictionaries and encyclopedias from Oxford University Press.
- ENGnetBASE This link opens in a new windowFulltext access to engineering handbooks. Coverage includes biomedical engineering, digital signal processing, electric power engineering, electrical engineering, environmental engineering, mechanical engineering, mobile communications, structural engineering, telecommunications, and vibration.
- FORENSICnetBASE This link opens in a new windowFeaturing works by esteemed criminologists and forensic practitioners, this unparalleled e-library boasts an ever-growing number of essential references on crisis management and negotiation methods, arson and homicide investigation, expert witnessing, forensic pathology and toxicology, and cyber crime.
