Guide to Resources
Many of the sources in this guide are linked to the library's Catalog. To find reference material in the catalog, you can search by title, keyword or subject heading.
Watch for the subheadings in subject headings to help you identify these sources. Here are some examples:
- Women--Encyclopedias.
- Spanish language--Dictionaries--English.
- Education -- Washington (State) --Directories.
- United States--Statistics.
Reference Sources
- Bartlebys.comAn online collection of public domain reference and literature. Includes the CIA Factbook, Roget's Thesaurus, quotation books, links to works on writing style plus works of literature, nonfiction and verse. Works are mainly from 18th and 19th century (Web site includes advertising).
- Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new windowThis unique historical reference compendium allows instant access to the renowned texts of the Cambridge Histories series. With access to the most up to date and authoritative scholarly content, Cambridge Histories Online is an invaluable resource, for undergraduates, graduates, lecturers and researchers alike.
- Gale Virtual Reference Ebooks This link opens in a new windowElectronic reference books for business, religion, medicine, social sciences, history, etc.
- Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analysis of authors from every age and literacy discipline through more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists and other writers.
- Oxford African American Studies Center This link opens in a new windowFeatures over 7,500 articles from Oxford's reference works, approximately 100 primary sources with commentaries, over 1,000 images, over 100 maps, over 200 charts and tables, and timelines to guide researchers through the history of African Americans.
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowAccess to multiple dictionaries and encyclopedias from Oxford University Press.
- Sage Knowledge This link opens in a new windowFull text reference works published by Sage Publisher.
- Statistical Abstract of the U.S. This link opens in a new windowThe authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. The online version includes monthly updates to tables, deep searching at the line-item level, powerful facets for narrowing search results, image and spreadsheet versions of all current and historical tables, along with links to provider sites.
- STATS America"STATS America, developed by the Indiana Business Research Center (IBRC) at Indiana University’s Kelley School of Business, is a web portal that uses data obtained from hundreds of federal, state, and private sources to make available numerous analytical tools that will be of use to economic development stakeholders in the private, public, and nonprofit sectors. These tools include profiles of all 50 states and 3,141 counties, with numerous economic and demographic indicators that are updated regularly."
- Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new windowSummarizes current issues and controversies in political, economic, social and scientific topics. From Facts on File.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowGood starting point for research on "hot topics" in the news including science, education, politics and economics.
- Cite your SourcesGeneral Citing hints from Lemieux Library Website
Internet Archive
- Internet Archive Wayback MachineWith its open source platform, this site contains over 150 billion pages. Use for finding lost web content, provides a snapshot of the page.
