Get Research Help
chat loading...
Mary Linden Sepulveda
Mary Sepulveda
Contact:
206.296.6209
Coordinator of Collection Development, Special Collections & Archives
Coordinator of Collection Development, Special Collections & Archives
TIPS for Journal Searching
Most of the journals list on the right, are part of our subscription databases.
- Search JSTOR, Project Muse or Academic Search Complete by topic. Results will likely reflect some of these journals.
- If you want to search the catalog by a specific journal, start with the library's home page. Change the catalog box, by click on the tab. Choose Journals. Now search by a specific journal title. If we have access to the journal, our online holdings we have link to the title.
- For journals, which focus on a specific country, search the catalog by the name of the country, then history, and further limit the scope by specifying journas or use the the word periodicals in your search. For a broader slection, search for journals in the UW catalogs. Journals many be in the language of the country.
eJournals
- American Historical ReviewAvailable through JSTOR from vol. 1, 1895- History Cooperative and Academic Search Complete have fulltext of this journals for several current years with the last year embargoed.
- American Jewish HistoryAvailable through our subscription in Project Muse, 1996 to present and digitally as a fulltext searchable database of issues from 1893-1978.
- Central European HistoryAvailable through several of our databases from 1975 to the present. Current year is provided by Cambridge.
- East European QuarterlyAvailable online 1994-
- European History QuarterlyAvailable 1999 to the present through SAGE
- European JudaismFrom Le Baeck College from 1966. Available through Academic Search Complete.
- German Studies ReviewAvailable through JSTOR through 2006.
- History and MemoryAvailable through several subscription sources with a beginning date of 1995
- Holocaust & Genocide StudiesAvailable througn 2002 to the present. "The major forum for scholarship on the Holocaust and other genocides, Holocaust and Genocide Studies is an international journal featuring research articles, interpretive essays, and book reviews in the social sciences and humanities..."
- Jewish HistoryArticles from 2000-
- Jewish Social StudiesDatabase access since 1975
- Journal of Modern HistoryBack Issues electronically available beginning with 1929 through JSTOR. Current issues supplied through our subscription to University of Chicago Press journals.
Open Access eJournals
- ADAJE: American Digital Archive of the Jewish ExperienceThe American Jewish Historical Society participates in the Digital Repository at the Center for Jewish History. The Digital Collections include photographs, scrapbooks, text images, finding aids, memorabilia, audio, etc.
- IDEA: a Journal of Social Issues"IDEA is an open access peer-reviewed journal created for the exchange of ideas related mainly to cults, mass movements, autocratic power, war, genocide, democide, holocaust and murder."
- RAMBI1985-. "is a selective bibliography of articles in the various fields of Jewish Studies and in the study of Eretz Israel. Material listed in RAMBI is compiled fron thousands of periodicals and from collections of articles-in Hebrew, Yiddish and European languages-mainly from the holdings of the Jewish National and University Library..."
Why use periodicals?
Periodicals are useful for three primary reasons: they...
- provide a wealth of valuable information that is current and timely
- contain the latest discussions on a topic
- cover topics not yet published in book form
Periodicals are created for different audiences. Some are for general readers and others for scholars and researchers.
Although the terms periodical, journal, serial and magazine have slightly different definitions, you will likely hear them used interchangeably. These are works that come out on a regular basis (weekly, monthly, annually) and contain articles written by various authors.