Nonprofit institute with a focus on diversity issues. It emphasizes research, education and advocacy. Its publications are described in abstracts and are available through its bookstore. Its online bibliography alerts and guides the site visitor to other resources in this area

Ranks charities

Association for Research on Nonprofit Organizations and Voluntary Action is an international membership organization located in Indianapolis, Indiana."(ARNOVA) is a neutral open forum committed to strengthening the research community in the emerging field of nonprofit and philanthropic studies

This international association is dedicated to assist those in the health care funding profession. Most members are in the United States or Canada

This organization specializes in leadership development and promoting best practices for newsletter, plus full text of selected white papers. A list of recommended books for nonprofit managers is also available at this site

This Center publishes the Stanford Social Innovation Review. Preview summary of articles which are available for a fee. This is also a good site to review faculty research in this area and find out where they work has been published

Connecting Nonprofit Professionals Worldwide," this Canadian website offers e-newsletters, forums and daily updates. A good site for managers and those who work with nonprofit boards

Located in San Francisco, this nonprofit which specializes in training, research and consulting. Its web site is especially strong in research materials, many of which are available as pdf files

The primary membership organization, for grantmaking institutions and foundations, the website has many sources for its members. For the visitor to the site, some reports can be downloaded and news items are available. The Council on Foundations publishes the Foundation News and Commentary. Some of the articles from this publication are available on this web site

Here is the site to go to for information on foundations and corporate giving. Additional services include links to nonprofit sources, the Literature of the Nonprofit Sources and grant opportunities. Research on trends in philanthropy, statistics, lists of top funders are just a few of the sources available on this website. Also available is the current issue and archives of Philanthropy News Digest.

This nonprofit sites is a directory of nonprofits in over 125 countries. Search by geography, name or mission. Good link for volunteer opportunities. Also includes Putnam Barber's FAQ- questions and answers to a variety of questions covering organization, management, regulation, resources and development

A coalition of corporations, nonprofits and foundations are the base for this organization. Similiar to other nonprofit websites, this site contains information for the visitor and the member alike. Free research publications are available on this site and for those publications for which there is a charge, highlights are given. The issues and public policy sections of this web site provide information on topics of interest to nonprofits. Links to the Nonprofit Pathfinder for sources of research

Known for its Nonprofit Good Practices Guide (under construction Summer 2010)

The National Arts Marketing Project is a project of the Arts & Business Council based in New York City. This site has a mix of fee and free resources. Case studies can be downloaded for a fee, while marketing resources are available online. Resource links lead the users to web sites and online articles

"NCRP is a national watchdog, research and advocacy organization that promotes public accountability and accessibility among foundations, corporate grantmakers, individual donors and workplace giving programs." Good menu of links to nonprofit, academic, policy and advocacy sites

"PolicyLink is a national research and action institute advancing economic and social equity by Lifting Up What Works. Lifting Up What Works is our way of focusing attention on how people are working successfully to use local, state, and federal policy to create conditions that benefit everyone, especially people in low-income communities and communities of color." Publications, tools and other resources are available on the website.

Evaluates ofver 5,000 charities which have over $500,000 and have been existence for at least 4 yrs. Ratings are on the charity's organization capacity and organizational efficiency.

Links to many topics on nonprofits derived from email discussions, usenets and other sources. Local events for nonprofits are listed here

Use this annual source and subsequent current issues of the journals to find rankings in Puget Sound. The Book of Lists for 2007 contains lists for top Nonprofit Organizations, the top 25 Benefit Events and the top 25 Corporate Philanthropists Ref HF5065 W2 P84

Check the resource links in this very full website. includes fulltext of local reports as well as links on a variety of topics

National Center for Charitable Statistics

NEW! "501 Commons is a resource for community organizations, schools, associations, philanthropy, volunteers, and all others in the 501 sector" in Washington State. (Jan. 2010)

Get help starting or managing your nonprofit organization at the Redmond Library's Nonprofit & Philanthropy Resource Center (NPRC).

The Hauser Center, part of the Kennedy School at Harvard, "pursues disinterested research and education, promoting critical thinking about the importance, roles and performance of civic organizations." Some working papers are available for free download.

Annual Report for the Hudson Institute

Done by John Hopkins. This study cover 41 countries

Created for Duke researchers, so it does not claim comprehensiveness, it is a convenient first directory source of NGO's