Get Research Help
Business and Economics Librarian
Seattle University
2nd Floor Research Services
Leadership Theories
Here are some examples of leadership theories:
| Trait | Skill | Style |
| Situational | Contingency | Path-Goal |
| Leader-Member exchange | Transformational | Level 5 |
| Followership | Transactional | Charismatic |
| Multicultural Leadership | Participative | Women&Leadership |
| Servant Leadership | Shared Leadership | Team Leadership |
| Adaptive Leadership | Resonant Leadership | Collaborative |
Finding Articles in the Databases
Step 1. Try to think of synonyms or qualifiers for your theory.
Step 2. Choose a database (Academic Search Complete, Research Library Complete would both be good Choices for a general database)
Step 3. Now perform this search. Number of results ______________________ Are they relevant? ______________________ Are there any limits or sorting you can do to see your results through a different lens?
Step 4. To identify additional keywords and/or issues, look at a few relevant records. If you are using Academic Search Complete, or Business Source Complete. evaluate at the subject headings in the left column. Note any additional terms 1. _________________ 2._________________
Step 5. Perform a new search using your new terms and evaluate your results. For topics which cross disciplines, search multiple databases.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowSearch more than 13,300 periodicals, including full text for nearly 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. It features a mix of interdisciplinary scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers and books.
- ProQuest (all collections) This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary databases including ABI Trade & Industry, National, regional and local newspapers, ProQuest Family Health, ProQuest Religion, and ProQuest Research Library .
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowSearch articles from thousands of business and scholarly journals. In addition, this resource provides access to company profiles, country reports, industry profiles, market research reports, and SWOT analyses.
- SocINDEX with/Full Text This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive sociology research database with coverage of not only sociology, but also anthropology, criminal justice, economic development, ethnic and racial studies, gender studies, social psychology, social work, substance abuse and other areas. It provides indexing for more than 600 journals with full text available for more than 300 journals.
- PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new windowFull text access to 41 journals from the American Psychological Association.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowProvides citations and abstracts of journal articles, books, dissertations and reports in the field of psychology and other related fields.
- Education Research Complete This link opens in a new windowIndexing and abstracts for more than 1,500 journals. Full text for more than 750 journals, and includes full text for more than 100 books and monographs, and for numerous education-related conference papers.
Working Papers
- Harvard Business School: Leadership & ManagementOver 250 working papers from Harvard Faculty on leadership and management
Try these sources for overview
Organizations: Focus on Leadership
- Robert F. Greenleaf Center for Servant LeadershipFocus on the values of servant leadership: service to others, fostering community, and shared decision-making.
- Center for Creative LeadershipCase studies, papers and presentations are readily available at this organization's web site.
- Leader to Leader InstituteLeader to Leader Institute mission is to strengthen the leadership of the social sector by providing inspiration, wisdom and resources