Get Research Help
chat loading...
Mary Linden Sepulveda
Mary Sepulveda
Contact:
206.296.6209
Coordinator of Collection Development, Special Collections & Archives
Coordinator of Collection Development, Special Collections & Archives
History Databases
Welcome to the Guide for History Resources
Pharos at Alexandria. (1810) (Digital Collection NYPL)
- America: History and Life This link opens in a new windowComplete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowHistoric coverage of the world (excluding the US and Canada) from 1450. Citations and abstracts from 1954 to the present. Includes links to JSTOR and ProjectMUSE. (For research on the U.S. and Canada, use America: History and Life.)
- Oxford African American Studies Center This link opens in a new windowFeatures over 7,500 articles from Oxford's reference works, approximately 100 primary sources with commentaries, over 1,000 images, over 100 maps, over 200 charts and tables, and timelines to guide researchers through the history of African Americans.
- Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new windowThis unique historical reference compendium allows instant access to the renowned texts of the Cambridge Histories series. With access to the most up to date and authoritative scholarly content, Cambridge Histories Online is an invaluable resource, for undergraduates, graduates, lecturers and researchers alike.
- International Medieval Bibliography This link opens in a new windowThe International Medieval Bibliography (IMB) is a multidisciplinary bibliographic database covering Europe, North Africa and the Middle East for the entire period from AD 300 to 1500. It aims to provide a comprehensive, current bibliography of articles in journals and miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, essay collections or Festschriften) published worldwide in over 35 different languages.
The database currently comprises over 400,000 article records on every aspect of the Middle Ages, with over 16,000 new records being added annually in quarterly updates.
Other Databases
- ARTstor This link opens in a new windowProvides over 1.6 million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences. Collections comprise contributions from outstanding international museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates.***BEFORE you use ARTstor please be aware of specific SYSTEM REQUIREMENTS as well as PERMITTED & RESTRICTED USES.
- ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials Plus This link opens in a new windowATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials PLUS (ATLAS PLUS )combines the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with ATLA's largest collection of full text religion and theology journals. ATLAS PLUS contains a more than 450 full text titles, including all ATLASerials (ATLAS) titles and content previously available in the ATLA Catholic Periodical and Literature Index (ATLA CPLI). This database is produced by the American Theological Library Association
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowScholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.
- Digital Public Library of America"The Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world." Links to digitized books, manuscripts, photos, etc...A searchable database, results can be limited by time, location, subject, language and repository.
- Transatlantic Slave Trade Database This link opens in a new windowThe Transatlantic Slave Trade Database comprises nearly 35,000 individual slaving expeditions between 1514 and 1866.
Best Places to Start - Interdisciplinary Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowSearch more than 13,300 periodicals, including full text for nearly 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. It features a mix of interdisciplinary scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers and books.
- ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new windowFrom business and political science to literature and psychology, ProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database includes more than 4,000 titlesnearly 2,800 in full textfrom 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowExcellent source for full text scholarly journal articles in history, economics, education, philosophy, literature, African studies, Asian studies, African American studies, sociology, political science, science, and psychology.
Web Digital Collections
See also History: Finding Primary Sources for Historical Research
- Perseus Digital LibraryPrimary focus on the Greek and Roman World, but expanding to other areas of history
- ehistory.orgeHistory projects involve “citizen historians” in the amassing and analyzing of historical data. Projects focus on United States history and center around slave narratives, civil war letters, smallpox during the 19th century and more
- Avalon Project at the Yale Law School: Documents in Law, History and DiplomacyAn exhaustive collection of primary docs from late Roman through 20thc. Searchable by tile, keyword, category or chronologically.
Other History Resources
- Medieval Studies
-
Online Reference Tools
by Research Services Last Updated Aug 20, 2024 129 views this year
- Primary Sources for Research