Lemieux Library: Women, Gender &amp; Sexuality Studies: Subject Guide

Get Research Help

chat loading...

Mary Linden Sepulveda

Mary Sepulveda

Email Me

Contact:

206.296.6209

Coordinator of Collection Development, Special Collections & Archives

Subjects: Catholic Studies, Special Collections, Theology and Religious Studies

Women & Gender Studies Database

Use this database and the databases below to find ARTICLES on your topic. Check the scope of each database to see what formats are covered and whether the material is scholarly or popular. If you locate an article which is not FULL-TEXT in our databases, you can request the copy from Interlibrary Loan.

Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
Gender Studies Database combines Women’s Studies International and Men’s Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. GSD covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. This database includes more than 921,000 records with coverage spanning from 1972 and earlier to the present.
Gender Studies Database combines Womens Studies International and Mens Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. GSD covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses & dissertations and other sources. Several thousand links to freely available and indexed full-text articles and documents on the Web are available, including carefully selected and important Websites

Best Places to Start - Interdisciplinary Databases

The three interdisciplinary databases are great starting points to locate articles on your topic. JSTOR contains only scholarly material and is best searched by using the advanced feature. Proquest is a family of 18 databases, so contains scholarly, trade, general articles, plus newspapers and the indexing of dissertations. Academic Search Complete is one of many databases from Ebscohost.

JSTOR
Search scholarly journals for articles in the areas of business, economics, education, history, psychology, religion, science and more.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Search more than 13,300 periodicals, including full text for nearly 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. It features a mix of interdisciplinary scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers and books.

ProQuest Research Library
Search nearly 2800 full-text periodicals, including a mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines and newspapers.

Specialized Databases

SocINDEX with/Full Text This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive sociology research database with coverage of not only sociology, but also anthropology, criminal justice, economic development, ethnic and racial studies, gender studies, social psychology, social work, substance abuse and other areas. It provides indexing for more than 600 journals with full text available for more than 300 journals.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts of journal articles, books, dissertations and reports in the field of psychology and other related fields.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Complete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
1964 to present. This extensive database covers over 2,000 journals published worldwide. In addition to covering all key English-language historical journals, America History and Life coverage includes selected historical journals from major countries, state and local history journals, and a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities. Over 90% of the articles included are published in English-language journals. In addition to articles, each year American History and Life includes approximately 6,000 citations of book and media reviews from a selection of over one hundred key journals in US and Canadian history and related fields.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Historic coverage of the world (excluding the US and Canada) from 1450. Citations and abstracts from 1954 to the present. Includes links to JSTOR and ProjectMUSE. (For research on the U.S. and Canada, use America: History and Life.)
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
The MLA International Bibliography is a comprehensive database for books, academic journals, dissertations and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Produced by the Modern Language Association, the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.
Sage Knowledge This link opens in a new window
Full text reference works published by Sage Publisher.