Get Research Help
chat loading...
Librarian
Databases
- America: History and Life This link opens in a new windowComplete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
In addition to the databases listed on the home page, these two databases may help you hone in on history related articles.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowHistoric coverage of the world (excluding the US and Canada) from 1450. Citations and abstracts from 1954 to the present. Includes links to JSTOR and ProjectMUSE. (For research on the U.S. and Canada, use America: History and Life.)
- New York Times (1851 - 2020) - Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowFull text of the New York Daily Times (1851 - 1857) and the New York Times newspaper (1857-2020). This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
- Federal Land Records.Requires zip code to enter site."Provides "live access to Federal land conveyance records for the Public Land States. We also provide image access to more than three million Federal land title records for Eastern Public Land States, issued between 1820 and 1908. Images of Serial patents (land titles issued between 1908 and the mid-1960's) have been added to this web site. "
- Western Waters Digital LibraryFree public access to digital collections of significant primary and secondary resources on water in the western United States.
Guides
- American Environment History BibliographyBibliography on the history listserv H-net. Not comprehensive, but a good starting point
- Learning to do Historical Research: A Primer for Environmental Historians and OthersThis page has key stages of the research process and a survey of different types of documents. By William Cronon. University of Wisconsin-Madison.