Get Research Help
chat loading...
Librarian
Best Places to Start - Interdisciplinary Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowSearch more than 13,300 periodicals, including full text for nearly 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. It features a mix of interdisciplinary scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers and books.
- Research Library This link opens in a new window
Search more than 5,000 titles, over 3,500 in full text. It features a mix of interdisciplinary scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowEcology is well-represented in this database. For example fulltext coverage of these six Ecology journals: Ecological Monographs, Ecology, Journal of Animal Ecology, Journal of Ecology, Annual Review of Ecology and Systematics, and Ecological Applications
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new windowGreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment.
News
- Environmental News NetworkAn aggregator of environmental news from over 57 sources, the site posts 1-5 new articles daily, with links to the original site. It also posts original articles
- Science DailyCheck the "Top Environment News" section of this website.
- USGS. Science in Your Backyard: WashingtonNews releases of interest for Washington
Other Social Science Databases
- SocINDEX with/Full Text This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive sociology research database with coverage of not only sociology, but also anthropology, criminal justice, economic development, ethnic and racial studies, gender studies, social psychology, social work, substance abuse and other areas. It provides indexing for more than 600 journals with full text available for more than 300 journals.
Other Science Databases
- AGRICOLA This link opens in a new windowCitations related to agriculture, animal science, chemistry, and natural resources. Books, Serials, AV and other materials are indexed.
- BIOSIS Previews This link opens in a new windowCitations and abstracts of journal articles, scientific conference proceedings, books, and patents covering the life sciences and biomedical research.
Web Sites
- SciTech ConnectSciTech Connect is a portal to free, publicly-available DOE-sponsored R&D results including technical reports, bibliographic citations, journal articles, conference papers, books, multimedia, software, and data information, and was developed by the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI) to increase access to science, technology, and engineering research information from DOE and its predecessor agencies.
- MyEnvironment: Environmental Information for My AreaEasy access to reports and data related to air, water, land, health and energy honed to a community or local area.