Get Research Help
chat loading...
Business and Economics Librarian
Jason Hall
He/Him/His
Contact:
Lemieux Library
Seattle University
2nd Floor Research Services
Seattle University
2nd Floor Research Services
(206) 398-4484
Subjects: Business
Industrial Classification Systems
- Industry classification systems (NAICS or SIC) categorizes industries so that similar industries are grouped together.
- Narrower industries appear within broader industry categories.
- Search databases with both industry classification codes, NAICS or SIC, or by keywords.
- Industry classification systems do not always keep up with industry trends (wearables, big data, etc.)
Industry Reports
- ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry This link opens in a new window Search articles from thousands of business, trade, and scholarly journals.
- First Research Industry Profiles This link opens in a new window Industry profiles for more than 200 industries covering trends, challenges, forecasts, financial information, and more.
- Global Market Information Database (GMID) This link opens in a new window The GMID contains information on key business intelligence on countries, companies, markets and consumers for over 350 markets and 207 countries.
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new window Provides industry reports for hundreds of U.S. NAICS-classified industries at the 5-digit level, including specialized industries. Reports include key statistics and analysis on market characteristics, operating condition, current and historical performance, a 5-year forecast, major industry participants, and more.
- MarketResearch.com Academic This link opens in a new window Substantive global market research reports on a broad range of industries and demographics.
- Passport This link opens in a new window Provides international consumer and market data, including data for many countries on consumer market sizes, market data and forecasts, consumer lifestyles, companies, and brands.
- Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window In-depth industry overviews for over 50 industries as well as key financial and competitive analysis for thousands of U.S. public companies.
Industry Ratios & Rankings
- Advertising Age: Advertising and Marketing Rankings Data Center The Advertising and Marketing Rankings Data Center includes a wide variety of annually conducted ranking studies by Advertising Age magazine. Most rankings are accessible for free, however some of the more recent documents require a fee-based subscription.
- Engineering News-Record (ENR): Top 250 International Contractors Engineering News-Record (ENR) provides an annual study that ranks contractor companies based on the construction revenue generated outside of each company's home country. The Top 250 International Contractors index ranks companies based on their international revenues. The site also offers the following rankings: the Top 500 Design Firms, the Top 200 Environmental Firms, the Top 100 Green Design Firms, and the Top 600 Specialty Contractors. Users are also able to access rankings from previous years.
- Stores: Top 250 Global Retailers Published by the National Retail Federation, in conjunction with Deloitte, The Global Powers of Retailing provides a ranking by annual sales of the top 250 global retailers. Country of origin, store format, and number of countries of operation are also provided for each retailer within the ranking. A link to the ranking is located at the beginning of the publication. This report also includes other analyses of the top global powers of retailing.
- Hoovers (D&B) This link opens in a new window Offers a range of public and private company and industry information, including company profiles, news and articles, executive profiles, and financial data.
- MSU-CIBER: Market Potential Index (MPI) The Market Potential Index (MPI), an indexing study conducted annually by MSU-CIBER, helps companies rank emerging markets on eight dimensions. The dimensions are then combined to create an overall market potential index. The latest rankings are provided on the site as well as access to past analysis.
Private Equity & Venture Capital
- Hoovers (D&B) This link opens in a new window Offers a range of public and private company and industry information, including company profiles, news and articles, executive profiles, and financial data.