Get Research Help
chat loading...
Librarian
Plants and Animals
Birds
- Birds of the World This link opens in a new windowFrom The Cornell Lab of Ornithology. Comprehensive life histories for all bird species and families.
- All About Birds - Cornell Lab of OrnithologyGeneral information about bird identification, guides, and interacting with birds.
Fish
- FishBaseGlobal biodiversity information system on finfishes.
Worms
- WormBaseInformation concerning the genetics, genomics, and biology of C. elegans and related nematodes.
Plants
- BotanicusA portal to historic botanical literature from the Missouri Botanical Garden Library.
- Plant Anatomy Reference CollectionPlant anatomy images and animations from the University of Miami.
- Plant Information OnlineFrom the University of Minnesota Libraries.
- PLANTS DatabaseFrom the USDA, standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories.
- The Plant ListA working list of all known plant species, from Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew and Missouri Botanical Garden, and other collaborators.
- Native Plant Information NetworkInformation about native wildflowers, plants and landscapes throughout North America.
Genetics Resources
- Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man (OMIM)Catalog of human genes and genetic disorders and traits, with a focus on molecular relationship between genetic variation and phenotypic expression. OMIM is authored and edited at the McKusick-Nathans Institute of Genetic Medicine, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, under the direction of Dr. Ada Hamosh.
- National Human Genome Research Institute (NHGRI)The home page for the NHGRI, which acts as a clearing house for genetic and genomic information of all kinds.
- The Genome DatabaseThis resource organizes information on genomes including sequences, maps, chromosomes, assemblies, and annotations.
- Registry of Standard Biological PartsA community driven collection of biological parts to build synthetic biology devices and systems. Run by the International Genetically Engineered Machine (iGEM) Foundation.
Ecology and Conservation Resources
- Biodiversity Heritage LibrarySearch older (legacy) materials about biodiversity from a consortium of natural history and botanical libraries.
- State of the Birds ReportAn annual conservation vulnerability assessment for all 1,154 native bird species that occur in Canada, the continental United States, and Mexico.
- US Geological Survey (USGS)Publicly available information related to ecology, including data, maps, software, and publications.
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new windowGreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment.
- UW Fish and Wildlife Service's National Digital LibraryA searchable collection of selected images, historical artifacts, audio clips, publications, and video, most of which are in the public domain. Those not in the public domain are intended for personal, private use.
- National Marine Sanctuaries Media LibraryComprehensive collection of select video clips and high-resolution still images from America's underwater treasures -- from the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration.
Model Organism Databases
Biologists work with a a variety of model organisms, many of which had openly available databases and research communities centered on those databases. Below are a few common ones:
BioChemistry
- BRENDACollection of enzyme functional data classified according to the Enzyme Commission list of enzymes.
See also the research guide for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology