Get Research Help
chat loading...
Librarian
Databases
- BIOSIS Previews This link opens in a new windowCitations and abstracts of journal articles, scientific conference proceedings, books, and patents covering the life sciences and biomedical research.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowCreated by the National Library of Medicine and freely available via the internet and international in scope. It comprises more than 22 million citations for biomedical literature from biology, medicine, nursing, and life sciences journals as well as journals from many other fields. Citations may include links to full text content.
(To order an article not owned by SU, work from the full PubMed article record. Click on the SU Full Text Search button in the upper right corner of the screen to find an interlibrary loan request form.) - ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowOnline fulltext scholarly journal articles for a select number of titles the library subscribes to in print.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowSearch more than 13,300 periodicals, including full text for nearly 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. It features a mix of interdisciplinary scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers and books.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowExcellent source for full text scholarly journal articles in history, economics, education, philosophy, literature, African studies, Asian studies, African American studies, sociology, political science, science, and psychology.
- Dissertations and theses A & I This link opens in a new windowIncludes citations for dissertations and theses from around the world, ranging from 1861 to those accepted last semester. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts; master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts.
Look up an article by a citation
Use the Library Catalog to search for a specific journal article from its citation. The most useful way to search is to search for the title of the article in quotes. You can also search for a specific journal in the Library's eJournal Search.
- The Library CatalogSearch for a specific article by title!
- eJournal SearchSearch for a specific journal by journal name or ISSN.
Finding Scholarly, Peer-Reviewed Articles
You can find articles on biology topics and interdisciplinary science topics in several of these databases. Many of these databases have search tools that are specific to biology or other science subjects. You can request items that the library does not have access to through Interlibrary Loan at this link.
- Ulrichsweb This link opens in a new windowUlrichsweb is an easy to search source of detailed information on more than 300,000 academic and scholarly journals, e-journals, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and more. Ulrichsweb covers more than 900 subject areas.
More Science Databases
- AGRICOLA This link opens in a new windowCitations related to agriculture, animal science, chemistry, and natural resources. Books, Serials, AV and other materials are indexed.
- bioRxivAn archive of unpublished preprints in the life sciences. Operated by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory.
- Science.govSearch federal science information and government research. Searches databases and scientific websites.
- Kew Bibliographic DatabasesDeveloped and maintained by researchers at the Kew Royal Botanic Gardens in the United Kingdom. Searches three databases regarding the human use and taxonomy of plants, gymnosperms, and ferns.
- Dissertations and theses A & I This link opens in a new windowIncludes citations for dissertations and theses from around the world, ranging from 1861 to those accepted last semester. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts; master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts.
- Research Library This link opens in a new window
Search more than 5,000 titles, over 3,500 in full text. It features a mix of interdisciplinary scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
- SciFinderⁿ This link opens in a new windowSearch for references, substances, reactions, patents, suppliers, and other chemical information. CAS SciFindern also includes relevance-ranked results, step-by-step procedures and protocols, citation mapping, sequence searching, retrosynthetic analysis, patent landscape mapping, touch-screen enabled structure drawing and more.
First time users: First time users must register for an account
- SciFinder Scholar New User RegistrationFirst-time Scifinder users must register for access.
- IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new windowAccess to technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. Includes citations and full text from IEEE journals, transactions, conference proceedings & IEE publications. Useful for research in biomedical areas.
Biomedical Databases
- AccessMedicine This link opens in a new windowContains searchable electronic biomedical textbooks with coverage for all areas of medicine. Good tool for background information and overviews of biomedical topics. Useful for evidence-based practice and research.
- CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new windowCINAHL Plus with Full Text is the premiere index for the nursing literature. It provides indexing for more than 2,700 journals with full text for more than 300 journals. Also covers alternative and complementary medicine, biomedicine, diagnostic ultrasound, gerontology, and public health.
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new windowUp-to-date information on the effects of interventions in health care. Designed to provide information and evidence to support decisions taken in health care and to inform those receiving care. Excellent tool for evidence-based research on interventions.
- ClinicalKey This link opens in a new windowClinicalKey provides full text access to selected medical texts, medical journals, practice guidelines, drug information, patient handouts, and CME materials
Finding popular science articles
Most of the databases on this page contain scholarly sources - articles that are written for biology researchers by biology researchers. Popular science articles are written by reporters for a general audience. Here are some places to find popular science articles.
- 60-second science podcastFrom Scientific American
- National Institutes of Health News ReleasesThe National Institutes of Health (NIH), a part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, is the primary federal agency for conducting and supporting medical research.
- National Science Foundation Biology NewsThe mission of the NSF Directorate for Biological Sciences is to enable discoveries for understanding life. It advances the frontiers of biological knowledge, increases our understanding of complex systems, and provides a theoretical basis for original research in many other scientific disciplines.
- New York Times (Text only) This link opens in a new windowLog in to access an unlimited number of NY Times articles through the Library's subscription.
- Science MattersNewsletter from the EPA
- ScienceDailyScience news & press releases from around the world
- SciencelineA project of the Science, Health and Environmental Reporting Program in NYU's journalism institute
- The ScientistMagazine of the life sciences