Get Research Help
chat loading...
Librarian
E-book encyclopedias on biology
You can use the library's catalog, known as Primo, for handbooks and other reference works. Search using keywords of your choice and terms like "handbook" or "dictionary" to search for similar works. Other sources for finding handbooks and similar texts are identified below.
- Gale Virtual Reference Ebooks This link opens in a new windowElectronic reference books for business, religion, medicine, social sciences, history, etc.
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowAccess to multiple dictionaries and encyclopedias from Oxford University Press.
- Encyclopedia of Bioethics2004 e-book from Macmillan
- Encyclopedia of Evolution2002 e-book from Oxford University Press
- Encyclopedia of Underwater Life2005 e-book from Oxford University Press
- Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia2004 e-book from Gale.
- New Encyclopedia of Birds2007 e-book from Oxford University Press
Identify and find information on molecules, genes, proteins, and more
- BRENDA - The Comprehensive Enzyme Information SystemCollection of enzyme functional data classified according to the Enzyme Commission list of enzymes.
- SCOP 2: Structural Classification of ProteinsA database of detailed and comprehensive descriptions of the relationships of known protein structures.
- Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory Biology AnimationsFrom the DNA Learning Center, these animations feature visualizations of cellular and molecular processes. Videos have transcripts.
- The Virtual Museum of Minerals and Molecules3d visualizations of molecules and minerals. Designed for instruction, and the 3d models can be rotated.
- GeneCardsCompendium of annotative information about human genes, run by the Weizmann Institute of Science.
- Registry of Standard Biological PartsA community driven collection of biological parts to build synthetic biology devices and systems. Run by the International Genetically Engineered Machine (iGEM) Foundation.
E-book dictionaries on biology
- A Dictionary of Biology2008 e-book from Oxford University Press
- A Dictionary of Genetics2006 e-book from Oxford University Press
- A Dictionary of Plant Sciences1998 e-book from Oxford University Press
- A Dictionary of Scientific Bird Names1991 e-book from Oxford University Press
- A Dictionary of Zoology2009 e-book from Oxford University Press