Get Research Help
chat loading...
Business and Economics Librarian
Jason Hall
He/Him/His
Contact:
Lemieux Library
Seattle University
2nd Floor Research Services
Seattle University
2nd Floor Research Services
(206) 398-4484
Subjects: Business
Where do I find journal articles?
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowSearch articles from thousands of business and scholarly journals. In addition, this resource provides access to company profiles, country reports, industry profiles, market research reports, and SWOT analyses.
While international development is an interdisciplinary field, most databases of journal articles are not; instead, they collect articles from a single discipline such as economics or sociology.
Business Source Complete & Academic Search Complete are top sources for international development. You can also find articles in Proquest databases. Find international newspapers in LexisNexis.
Global environments. Search information about different environments which may effect issue globally. Note: You may want to think of narrower concepts. Here are some examples....
| Broad term:Politics> | Corruption | Bribery |
| Broad term: Environmental-> | pollution | irrigation- water pollution |
| Broad term: Economic-> | wealth |
poverty (conditon) or poor people |
| Broad term: Education-> | literacy | lteracy rates for girls |
| Broad term: Culture-> | families | gender |
Ex #1 Choose one of these topics to find articles in the databases
- You want articles which will help you formulate recommendations for your organization. To start, look for articles which may evaluate NGO's. TIP: Use both nongovernmental or nonprofit as search terms. Use synonyms or related terms for evaluate. Use Both Business Source Complete Academic Search Complete. Other terms?
- Use Proquest to find articles on abandoned children. You are interested in both why and where they are abandoned. For the "why" use terms which may trigger relationships or conditions (poverty, neglect or HIV). For the why try both broad regional terms and country terms, e.g. India, Bangladesh, Thailand
- Try the same search in SOCINDEX wFulltext.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowSearch more than 13,300 periodicals, including full text for nearly 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. It features a mix of interdisciplinary scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers and books.
- EconLit with Full Text This link opens in a new windowThe premier database for economic literature. This resource provides a comprehensive index of economic journals, books, working papers, and dissertations.
- SocINDEX with/Full Text This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive sociology research database with coverage of not only sociology, but also anthropology, criminal justice, economic development, ethnic and racial studies, gender studies, social psychology, social work, substance abuse and other areas. It provides indexing for more than 600 journals with full text available for more than 300 journals.
- ProQuest (all collections) This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary databases including ABI Trade & Industry, National, regional and local newspapers, ProQuest Family Health, ProQuest Religion, and ProQuest Research Library .
- CIAO This link opens in a new windowColumbia International Affairs Online includes full text working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, and proceedings from conferences; abstracts of journal articles in international affairs.