Get Research Help
chat loading...
Business and Economics Librarian
Jason Hall
He/Him/His
Contact:
Lemieux Library
Seattle University
2nd Floor Research Services
Seattle University
2nd Floor Research Services
(206) 398-4484
Subjects: Business
Development Portals
Ex #2
Take a few minutes and explore the contents of each of these portals. Use one of these topics and explore how the portals cover the topic. Choose any two reports from the four portals as examples.
Poverty, Land, Women, Gender, Children
- ELDISGateway to information on development issues from University of Sussex, providing free and easy access to wide range of high quality online resources...(and) offers a directory of websites, databases, library catalogues and email discussion lists." Includes Country Reports from a Development Perspective
International Development Organizations
- International Development AssociationEstablished in 1960, IDA aims to reduce poverty by providing interest-free credits and grants for programs that boost economic growth, reduce inequalities and improve people’s living conditions.
- IFC-International Finance CorporationIFC invests in enterprises majority-owned by the private sector throughout most developing countries in the world.
- IOM-International Organization for MigrationIOM is the leading inter-governmental organization in the field of migration and works closely with governmental, intergovernmental and non-governmental partners.
International Development Websites
- Accessible Information on Development ActivitiesAidData contains data on commitments and disbursements for the period 1945-2009.
Listed below are some recommended web resources:
- International Development Statistics OnlineBilateral and multilateral assistance figures
- Vitual Library on International DevelopmentCollection of links to international development-related sites and documents
- World Development ReportsAnnual assessments by the World Bank
- WWW Virtual Library: International Development ResourcesAn outstanding repository of links
- Human Development ReportThe annual Human Development Report, commissioned by UNDP, focuses the global debate on key development issues, providing new measurement tools, innovative analysis and often controversial policy proposals.
Connections: Organizations for Service Workers
- International Volunteerism Resource CenterThe goal of this resource center is to help you make informed decisions about volunteering in another country.
Women & Children
- Association for Women's Rights in DevelopmentLinks to free organization publications and resources on feminist organizational development, gender equality and new technologies, women's rights and economic change, young women and leadership, and globalization.
UN Refugee Information
- UN Refugee AgencyThe Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees is mandated to lead and co-ordinate international action to protect refugees and resolve refugee problems worldwide. Its primary purpose is to safeguard the rights and well-being of refugees. Resource page contains statistics, maps, research, publications and archives.
- RefWorldCompanion site to the UN Refugee Agency. Contains a vast collection of reports relating to situations in countries of origin, policy documents and positions, and documents relating to international and national legal frameworks. The information has been selected and compiled from UNHCR's global network of field offices. Includes country information, legal and policy information.
International Development Agency: US
- USAID United States Agency for International DevelopmentUSAID is an independent federal government agency that receives overall foreign policy guidance from the Secretary of State. Their work supports long-term and equitable economic growth and advances U.S. foreign policy objectives by supporting:economic growth, agriculture and trade; global health; and, democracy, conflict prevention and humanitarian assistance
Many countries have similiar goals as USAID. To find other countries, google the name of the country + "development agency." Both UK and Canada have large programs
- USAID Development Experience ClearinghouseUSAID's Development Experience Clearinghouse (DEC) is the largest online resource for USAID funded technical and program documentation, with over 71500 documents available for electronic download
International Organizations: East Asia and Southeast Asia
- Asian Development BankADB issues loans, grants, policy dialogue, technical assistance and equity investments.
- Asian Productivity OrganizationFocused on the Asia and Pacific region, this intergovernmental organization with 20 member countries publishes guidelines on productivity-related practices, and provides free e-Books on industry and services.
- Association of Southeast Asian NationsEconomic and business information on 10 member organization
- Asia Pacific Economic CooperationOrganization's objective is to enhance economic growth, cooperation, trade and investment.
- Foundation for Development CooperationAustralian foundation focused on better development outcomes in the Asia-Pacific region through collaboration and innovation
Latin America
- Inter-American Development BankWith partners in governments, companies and civil society organizations. the IDB provides financial assistance to the 26 countries of Latin America and the Caribbean.
- Andean CommunityBolivia, Columbia, Ecuador, and Peru with goal of integrated economic, social and cultural development. Website provides statistics, legislation, and other documentation.
- Asociación Latinoamericana de Integración (ALADI)Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Columbia, Ecuador, Mexico, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay, and Venezuela and Cuba.are the member of this economic development organization
- FTAA- Free Trade Area of the AmericasNews and other information about integration of the economies of this region
Africa & Middle East
- African Development BankThe goal of the African Development Bank is to contribute to poverty reduction by sustainable economic development and social progress in its regional member countries.
- African Economic OutlookData and analysis of 53 African economies. Each country profile is generated by an expert from a partner institution who meets with and collects data and information from the most important stakeholders in each context.
- African UnionFounded as the Organization of African Unity to promote cooperation among the independent nations of Africa. Replaced the Organisation of African Unity.
- Cooperation Council for the Arab States of the GulfFocus on joint free trade economic policies in the Gulf region.