Images

A project of the National Library of Medicine, the Visible Human Project provides access to cross-sectional images of the human female and male. Sample images are available free of charge.

PHIL welcomes use of their material for reference, teaching, presentation, and public health messages. The content is organized into categories by people, place, and science, and is presented as single images, image sets, and multimedia files.

This atlas of endoscopy was produced by David M. Martin, M.D. and by Ralph C. Lyons, M.D. Both doctors are certified by the American Board of Internal Medicine and by the American Board of Gastroenterology.

A Web-based collection of physical examination findings. Images are organized into these categories: Abdomen, Eyes, Head and Neck, Thorax, Upper Extremities, Lower Extremities, Skin and Genital/Rectal.

A three-dimensional image reference of the human embryo based on magnetic resonance imaging.

A comprehensive reference and teaching tool for physicians and hematology students. Search by keyword, or browse by author, title, category or date.

Nearly 70,000 images in the collections of the History of Medicine Division (HMD) of the U.S National Library of Medicine (NLM).

This site draws images from the National Library of Medicine's collection. Most are illustrations taken from books and larger works.

The Yale Medical Library's digital collection houses an extensive portrait collection and a collection of teaching illustrations in the Pathology Teaching Collection.

Contains images from the thirteenth through the early twentieth century in the fields of astronomy, chemistry, geology, mathematics, medicine, and physics, as represented by manuscript illuminations, engravings, lithographs, and photographs from the New York Public Library.

This online book features 1,247 vibrant engravings--many in color--from the classic 1918 publication, as well as a subject index with 13,000 entries. Banner ads are found at the top of the pages, but the illustrations are from the 1918 publication.

Contains health-related advertisements and historical documents collected between 1911 and 1958.

4,500 full-page plates and other significant illustrations of human anatomy. There are ninety-five individual titles, ranging in date from 1522-1867.