Art databases provided by the SU Library
- Artstor This link opens in a new windowUPDATE: The Artstor platform is now part of JSTOR. Additional information can be found at: Artstor on JSTOR: Working with Images LibGuide. Artstor provides over 1.6 million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences. Collections comprise contributions from museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates.
- Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new windowAccess to Oxford art reference resources including Grove Art Online, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, Oxford Companion to Western Art and the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Grove Art Online also includes linking to ARTstor.
- Theater in Video This link opens in a new windowContains more than 250 definitive performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries, online in streaming video. Includes the BBC Shakespeare Series. (3 simultaneous users max.)
Art images online
- CalisphereThe University of California's free gateway to primary sources. More than 150,000 digitized items — including photographs, documents, newspaper pages, political cartoons, works of art, diaries, transcribed oral histories, advertising, and other unique cultural artifacts — reveal the diverse history and culture of California and its role in national and world history.
- Los Angeles County Museum of ArtNearly 20,000 high-quality images of art from this collection are available to download and use as you see fit. Just look for the “download” option beneath the photo of the artwork. (If you want to see all of the public domain artworks in the collection, run a search and then select “Show only unrestricted images” at the top of the page.)
- New York Public Library Digital GalleryOver 700,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more.
- Smithsonian Institution CollectionsImages from the Smithsonian's museums and archives. Over 800,000 images of people, animals, arts, culture, plants, maps, and more.
Get Research Help
chat loading...
