The Ka‘iwakīloumoku Digital Collections comprise a vast array of Hawaiian and Pacific expressions. Home to an assortment of essays, interviews, videos, recipes, and more, we invite you to explore this rich repository. During your visit, we greatly appreciate your consideration and respect for the information, images, and perspectives found here. Mahalo a nui.

Kipuka is a searchable online geographic information system that is managed by the Office of Hawaiian Affairs.

An online resource with census, demographic, and economic data. The website is a little clunky but it is kept up to date.

Managed by the Office of Hawaiian Affairs’, the (OHA’s) Papakilo Database is the ongoing development of a cutting edge and comprehensive “Database of Databases” consisting of varied collections of data pertaining to historically and culturally significant places, events, and documents in Hawai’i’s history. This resource is great for searching Hawaiian names or places.

Strong collection of very useful Hawaiian-related books and journals from the 1800s to today on Hawaiian history, culture, language, and issues. Also includes many specialized collections important to Hawaiian research.

Provides resources on affordable housing, education, Native Hawaiian equity, etc.

Access to quality publications (free ebooks mostly) focusing on agriculture, poverty, being priced out of paradise, etc.,

Provides full text access to their book, Facing Hawaiʻiʻs Future, and includes resources on GMOs and sustainable agriculture in Hawaiʻi.

A simple website that contains links to music clips, lyrics, info about Hula instruments, steps, chants, etc.

Full text online, but sometimes the links don't work properly.

A collection of Portuguese language newspapers published in Hawai'i from 1885-1927, maintained by the University of Hawai'i at Manoa.

The Save Our Surf (SOS) digital collection consists of unpublished material from the SOS organization - an environmental, social, political, and cultural movement that contributed to the contemporary Hawaiian Sovereignty movement.

Social Process in Hawai`i is a journal published by the University of Hawai`i at Manoa Department of Sociology with the objective of disseminating to scholars, students, and the community the results of outstanding social science research on the people and institutions of Hawai`i. Most issues are freely available online except for the most current issues.

The second Portuguese newspaper in the Islands. Four-page Honolulu weekly, August 1889 to March 1891; 85 issues, 340 pages.

Bishop Museum Library and Archive is one of the richest and most varied collections of published works and primary source materials concerned with Hawai‘i and the Pacific. Also contains audio and visual materials in the Hawaiian language.
Special items include: HEN - The Hawaiian Ethnological Notes Collection, commonly called HEN, is comprised of Hawaiian language material, most of which was translated by Mary Kawena Pukui.

Via Mission Children's Society Library. The Friend is the oldest continuing newspaper in Hawaiʻi, in publication since 1843.

Via Hathi Trust. The Friend is the oldest continuing newspaper in Hawaiʻi, in publication since 1843.

The Hawaii State Archives has been making digitized versions of collection materials since 2007, concentrating on the most requested material, indexes, and fragile materials. Collections are updated and enlarged as digitization and indexing processes are completed. All Hawaii State Archives' Digital Collection resources come from the holdings of the Hawaii State Archives.

The library’s strength is on the history of Hawai‘i and the Pacific in the nineteenth century. It has fine collections of early voyages and travels, Hawaiian-language imprints, and newspapers published in Hawai‘i.

A research Library containing rare books, Manuscript Collections and other special collections. The general focus of the Library's collections is on the history of Hawai‘i from 1778 to 1900. If prompted, use “HMCS Library” as the library name, no password is required.

Alternative weekly newspaper published in Honolulu from 1991-2013. It provided additional investigative news that filled voids left by the two main dailies in Hawaiʻi: Honolulu Star-Bulletin and The Honolulu Advertiser.

Kamehameha Schools Archives opened in Midkiff Learning Center on the campus at Kapālama in 1992. At the legacy campus, Kamehameha Schools Archives is a historical repository for Kamehameha Schools. Kamehameha Schools Archives is open to all researchers. Digital information and images are available. Includes a variety of unique collections related to Kamehameha schools including works and compositions in ʻŌlelo Hawaiʻi.

Started as a loose collection of gifts, records and valuable materials handed down between administrations and librarians for decades, the Punahou Archives began to formalize in the 1950s. It is comprised of school publications, photographic and multimedia images, artifacts, institutional records and manuscript collections which explain the historical events, growth and development of Punahou School. Also contains some works in ʻŌlelo Hawaiʻi.