Mainstream Newspapers
Some of these newspapers are available through databases, while some are freely available on the internet.
- The Garden Island"Began in 1902. Kauai’s only daily newspaper, publishing seven days a week. Editorial excellence in delivering local, state, national and world news."
- Hawaii Business NewsNot fully-available to SU students, but there are a number of free articles.
- Hawaii Tribune Herald"Hawaii Tribune-Herald is a daily broadsheet newspaper distributed on the Hilo-area of Hawaii’s Big Island. The newspaper is the primary news source for Hilo residents and locals. Circulation is 16,000 Monday through Friday and 18,000 on Sunday."
- Honolulu Star-BulletinIssues for July 1, 1912- carry numbering of Hawaiian star and Evening bulletin.
Suspended June 21-Aug. 7, 1963. - Honolulu Star AdvertiserHawaiʻi's main daily newspaper, "published its first edition June 7, 2010, combining the best of the 128-year-old Honolulu Star-Bulletin and the 154-year-old Honolulu Advertiser."
- Kauai Now"Kaua’i Now provides the people of Hawaii with up-to-the-minute coverage of what is happening on the island. We are 100% focused on covering news that matters to the island of Kaua’i. Kaua’i Now is staffed by Hawaii residents and is supported by local businesses and organizations."
- Lana'i Today"Lanai Today, published since 2008, is the newspaper of record on the lovely island of Lanai. The 20-page print newspaper is a free monthly publication that covers both historical and current events, community activities, as well as Maui county news that impact Lanaians, and highlights stories of island residents."
- Maui NewsThe printed newspaper for Maui published daily in Wailuku. The paper began in 1900. Covers the islands of Maui, Lānaʻi and Molokaʻi.
- Maui Now"Maui Now provides the people of Maui with up-to-the-minute coverage of what is happening on the island. It is 100% focused on covering news that matters to Maui. Maui Now is staffed entirely by Maui residents (with contributors from around Hawaii) and is supported by local businesses and organizations."
- The Molokai DispatchThe Molokai Dispatch is the Friendly Isle’s only print newspaper, serving a population of 7,500. It is operated on the belief that media can inspire positive change an empowerment within small communities. This is precisely why you’ll find news in The Molokai Dispatch that focuses on youth, culture, history, leadership and community voice – the foundation of a healthy community.
- Pacific Business NewsLocal news journal devoted to reporting on business in Hawaiʻi "where you'll find the latest breaking business news, updated throughout the day, this week's top stories from the Pacific Business News, and other popular features from the print edition."
- West Hawaii Today"West Hawaii Today is a daily broadsheet newspaper circulated on the west side of Hawaii’s Big Island from North Kohala to Ka‘u. The newspaper is the main source of local news to the West Hawaii community, and it also provides national and international coverage."
Independent Newspapers
Some independent news outlets in Hawai'i. An independent news outlet generally refers to any media, such as television, newspapers or Internet-based publications, that is free of influence by government or corporate interests. This means neither of these are part of large news corporations/conglomerates.
- Civil Beat"Dedicated to cultivating an informed body of citizens, all striving to make Hawaii a better place to live ... through investigative and watchdog journalism, in-depth enterprise reporting, analysis and commentary that gives readers a broad view on issues of importance to our community."
- Hawaii StarLaunched in 2010 with roots going back to the early 1990s, vision is to be a "robust independent news outlet, a local publishing venue for original reporting and commentary."
Historic News
- Chronicling America (Library of Congress)Full-text articles from historic Hawaiʻi and U.S. newspapers, between 1836-1922 including newspapers from Maui, Kauaʻi and Hawaiʻi island. Also includes some Hawaiian language articles in the Hawaii Holomua newspapers.
- Hawaii ReporterLaunched in "February 2002 as an independent, online news to cover key business, government, political and educational stories in Hawaii." Today it is now a "FREE online entertainment page" with volunteer contributors and no editor. Best to search your keywords in the search box to find archived articles on various issues and topics pertaining to Hawaiʻi rather than browsing the homepage.
- Honolulu WeeklyAlternative weekly newspaper published in Honolulu from 1991-2013. It provided additional investigative news that filled voids left by the two main dailies in Hawaiʻi: Honolulu Star-Bulletin and The Honolulu Advertiser.
- PapakiloCollection of digitized Hawaiian language from 1843-1948 and Hawaiian-related newspapers such as OHA's newsletter, Ka Wai Ola o OHA.
- Portugese Newspapers in Hawai'iA collection of Portuguese language newspapers published in Hawai'i from 1885-1927, maintained by the University of Hawai'i at Manoa.
Hawai'i TV and Radio News
- Hawaii News Now"KGMB (CBS), KHNL (NBC) and K5 collectively make up Hawaii News Now, the state's dominant multimedia news organization with the largest digital news footprint in the islands. HNN's parent company is Gray TV, a leading digital media and broadcasting company. For more on Gray TV and its philosophy on news, visit www.gray.tv."
- Hawaii Public RadioIn 2017, "HPR reformats its two stations. HPR-1 is now the news, entertainment, jazz, blues, and world music stream. HPR-2 is your home for classical music." In 2021, "The station wins three Regional Edward R. Murrow Awards from from the Radio Television Digital News Association in the categories of Excellence in Sound, Investigative Reporting, and News Series."
- KHON2 News"We're the news team that's Working for Hawaii, and we know your time is precious. That's why we strive to bring you the important stories of the day as they happen, wherever you are."
- KiTV4 Island News"KITV4 Island News has a long tradition of being the voice of the Islands. The station first went on the air in 1954. From the beginning we have been providing important news, entertainment, sports information. Today, KITV4 Island News produces 30+ hours per week of local news programming."
Get Research Help
chat loading...
