Get Research Help
chat loading...
Mary Linden Sepulveda
Mary Sepulveda
Contact:
206.296.6209
Coordinator of Collection Development, Special Collections & Archives
Coordinator of Collection Development, Special Collections & Archives
Sociology Databases
- SocINDEX with/Full Text This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive sociology research database with coverage of not only sociology, but also anthropology, criminal justice, economic development, ethnic and racial studies, gender studies, social psychology, social work, substance abuse and other areas. It provides indexing for more than 600 journals with full text available for more than 300 journals.
- Social Sciences Abstracts This link opens in a new windowCitations and abstracts in a wide range of interdisciplinary fields including addiction studies, anthropology, criminal justice, economics, public administration, geography, political science, and sociology
- Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new windowSocial Work Abstracts offers extensive coverage of more than 450 social work and human services journals dating back to 1977. The database provides citations and abstracts dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues and problems.
Best Places to Start - Interdisciplinary Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowSearch more than 13,300 periodicals, including full text for nearly 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. It features a mix of interdisciplinary scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers and books.
- Research Library This link opens in a new window
Search more than 5,000 titles, over 3,500 in full text. It features a mix of interdisciplinary scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowExcellent source for full text scholarly journal articles in history, economics, education, philosophy, literature, African studies, Asian studies, African American studies, sociology, political science, science, and psychology.
Other useful databases
- America: History and Life This link opens in a new windowComplete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
- Education Research Complete This link opens in a new windowIndexing and abstracts for more than 1,500 journals. Full text for more than 750 journals, and includes full text for more than 100 books and monographs, and for numerous education-related conference papers.
- eHRAF Archaeology This link opens in a new windoweHRAF Archaeology focuses on in-depth descriptive documents of archaeological traditions from around the world
- eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new windowThe Human Relations Area Files, Inc. (HRAF) is an internationally recognized organization in the field of cultural anthropology. The mission of HRAF is to encourage and facilitate worldwide comparative studies of human behavior, society, and culture.
- Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new windowGender Studies Database combines Women’s Studies International and Men’s Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. GSD covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. This database includes more than 921,000 records with coverage spanning from 1972 and earlier to the present.
- Polling the Nations This link opens in a new windowProvides public opinion polls containing the full text of 350,000 questions and responses from 14,000 surveys conducted in the U.S. and 100 other countries.
- RefWorks This link opens in a new windowRefWorks is an online research management, writing and collaboration tool designed to gather, organize, store information and to generate citations and bibliographies.
PLEASE NOTE:With consideration for rising costs, low usage, and the availability of free and open-source citation management tools, we will be canceling our subscription to RefWorks effective December 31, 2024. The library currently recommends and will continue to support Zotero, a free and open-source citation management tool with the same functions and features as RefWorks.
For additional information and support during this transition period, including workshops on migrating your RefWorks citations, please visit the RefWorks Transition Page
- Sage Research Methods This link opens in a new windowResources that assist researchers at all levels through the research process, from coming up with a research question, doing a literature review, planning a project, collecting and analyzing data and writing up a report, dissertation or thesis.
- SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new windowMapping application that enables users to create thematic maps and reports using thousands of demographic, marketing, and business data variables. Includes data from the U.S. Census, Mediamark, Simmons, and Dun & Bradstreet.