Get Research Help
chat loading...
Associate Librarian and Scholarly Services Librarian
Key. Resources
Social work research is interdisciplinary - please refer to other subject guides for additional recommendations and suggestions.
In this guide, you will find:
- primary and secondary literature
- peer reviewed journal articles
- community and national resources
New to research? If you are new to conducting research, consider exploring the Research Toolkit to learn the processes in doing research and/or view video tutorials for practical information such as requesting materials not available at SU and how to determine if something is peer-reviewed.
Start your research with these key social work related resources:
- Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new windowSocial Work Abstracts offers extensive coverage of more than 450 social work and human services journals dating back to 1977. The database provides citations and abstracts dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues and problems.
- SocINDEX with/Full Text This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive sociology research database with coverage of not only sociology, but also anthropology, criminal justice, economic development, ethnic and racial studies, gender studies, social psychology, social work, substance abuse and other areas. It provides indexing for more than 600 journals with full text available for more than 300 journals.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowSearch more than 13,300 periodicals, including full text for nearly 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. It features a mix of interdisciplinary scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers and books.