Get Research Help
chat loading...
Librarian
Dictionaries, encyclopedias & handbooks in physics
You can use the library's catalog, known as Primo, for handbooks and other reference works. Search using keywords of your choice and terms like "handbook" or "dictionary" to search for similar works. Some main handbooks are identified below.
- Handbook of Physics2002 e-book from Springer
- Twentieth Century PhysicsReviews of physicists understandings of concepts in physics.
- Gale Virtual Reference Ebooks This link opens in a new windowElectronic reference books for a wide variety of topics, including physics. Search by keyword to retrieve entries on certain topics.
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowAccess to multiple dictionaries and encyclopedias from Oxford University Press.
Property Data
- NIST Physical Reference DataData from the Physical Measurement Laboratory, part of the National Institute of Standards and Technology.
- Particle Data GroupCurrent best estimates of particle masses, decay modes, and searches for particles. Useful for high energy physics.
- National Nuclear Data CenterDatabases, publications, and links, to nuclear data networks, including information on parity, spin, half-lives, decay modes, and databases compiling nuclear structure and decay data and reactions.
- Table of NuclidesInteractive compilation of the properties of nuclei, including half lives, decay modes, and spin states. Run by the Korea Atomic Energy Research Institute.
- Thermophysical Properties of Matter DatabaseCompilation of properties data, displayed in graphic and tabular forms.
- ThermoDexIndexes of the properties and types of compounds found in different reference books. Run by the University of Texas Libraries. Useful for identifying specific reference works, which you can then search for in Primo.