Get Research Help
chat loading...
Librarian
Finding Scholarly, Peer-Reviewed Articles
You can find articles on chemical topics and interdisciplinary science topics in several of these databases. Many of these databases have search tools that are specific to chemistry or other science subjects. You can request items that the library does not have access to through Interlibrary Loan at this link.
- Ulrichsweb This link opens in a new windowUlrichsweb is an easy to search source of detailed information on more than 300,000 academic and scholarly journals, e-journals, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and more. Ulrichsweb covers more than 900 subject areas.
Physics Databases
- Physical Review Journals This link opens in a new windowProvides access to full-text articles published in various Physical Review journals from the American Physical Society.
- arXiv.orgOpen Access e-print archive with over 100000 articles in physics, 10000 in mathematics, and 1000 in computer science
- SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System (ADS)Contains abstracts, citations, preprints, and archives for physics, astronomy, and astrophysics. Hosted by the Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics.
- SPIRES HEPHigh-Energy Physics Literature Database, maintained by Stanford University Libraries.
Other Science, Math, and Interdisciplinary Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowSearch more than 13,300 periodicals, including full text for nearly 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. It features a mix of interdisciplinary scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers and books.
- IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new windowAccess to technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. Includes citations and full text from IEEE journals, transactions, conference proceedings & IEE publications.
- OSTI.GOVPrimary search tool for Department of Energy (DOE) funded science, technology, and engineering research.
- MathSciNet This link opens in a new windowCitations, abstracts and some full text for Mathematical Reviews and current mathematical publications.
- Research Library This link opens in a new window
Search more than 5,000 titles, over 3,500 in full text. It features a mix of interdisciplinary scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
Other sources of physics documents
- E-Print NetworkDatabase of E-prints from the U.S. Dept of Energy. E-prints are scholarly and professional works electronically produced and shared by researchers with the intent of communicating research findings to colleagues. They may include preprints, reprints, technical reports, conference publications or other means of electronic communication.
Physics Books in the Library
Another option for finding literature is browsing the physical shelves. Print materials are located on the 5th floor. The following call numbers are:
| QB 1 - 991 | Astronomy |
| QC 1 - 75 | General Physics |
| QC 170 - 197 | Atomic Physics |
| QC 350 - 467 | Optics |
| QC 501 - 766 | Electricity and Magnetism |
| QC 717.6 - 718.8 | Plasma Physics |
| QC 770 - 798 | Nuclear and Particle Physics |