Reference Books
- The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Africa byCall Number: DT3.C35 1981ISBN: 0521230969Publication Date: 1981-12-03
Books from the Catalog
The Other African Americans by Call Number: E184.A24 O84 2007ISBN: 0742540871Publication Date: 2007-08-02- Neo-African-AmericansCall Number: 3rd Floor-Media-DVD (E185.6 .N46 2008 DVD )
Overview
Welcome to the research guide for Global African Studies
This website is intended to support the classes at Seattle University and contains links to books, journals, databases and websites.
If you have a suggestion for additional resources in this area or have a question, please don't hesitate to contact me.
Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowCoverage spans virtually every area of academic study. Some of the journals of interest to African Studies include Development Southern Africa, African & Asian Studies, African Philosophy, and the International Journal of African Historical Studies.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFulltext scholarly journal articles in the areas of history, economics, business, education, psychology, and more. African Affairs, International Journal of African Historical Studies, Journal of Modern African Studies are representative of the 12 current titles in the African Studies cluster.
- Empire Online This link opens in a new windowPrimary manuscript and rare printed sources documenting cultural contacts, literature of empire, the visible empire and imperial aspects of race, class and religion from 1492-1962.
- Oxford African American Studies Center This link opens in a new windowFeatures over 7,500 articles from Oxford's reference works, approximately 100 primary sources with commentaries, over 1,000 images, over 100 maps, over 200 charts and tables, and timelines to guide researchers through the history of African Americans.
News
Social Science Databases
- America: History and Life This link opens in a new windowComplete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowHistoric coverage of the world (excluding the US and Canada) from 1450. Citations and abstracts from 1954 to the present. Includes links to JSTOR and ProjectMUSE. (For research on the U.S. and Canada, use America: History and Life.)
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowSearch articles from thousands of business and scholarly journals. In addition, this resource provides access to company profiles, country reports, industry profiles, market research reports, and SWOT analyses.
- CIAO This link opens in a new windowColumbia International Affairs Online includes full text working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, and proceedings from conferences; abstracts of journal articles in international affairs.
- Research Library This link opens in a new windowSearch more than 5,000 titles, over 3,500 in full text. It features a mix of interdisciplinary scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
- SocINDEX with/Full Text This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive sociology research database with coverage of not only sociology, but also anthropology, criminal justice, economic development, ethnic and racial studies, gender studies, social psychology, social work, substance abuse and other areas. It provides indexing for more than 600 journals with full text available for more than 300 journals.
Humanities Database
- ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials Plus This link opens in a new windowATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials PLUS (ATLAS PLUS )combines the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with ATLA's largest collection of full text religion and theology journals. ATLAS PLUS contains a more than 450 full text titles, including all ATLASerials (ATLAS) titles and content previously available in the ATLA Catholic Periodical and Literature Index (ATLA CPLI). This database is produced by the American Theological Library Association
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowThe MLA International Bibliography is a comprehensive database for books, academic journals, dissertations and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Produced by the Modern Language Association, the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s.
- Philosopher's Index with Full Text This link opens in a new windowProvides citations and abstracts of articles and books in the fields of philosophy, ethics, aesthetics, and logic.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowProject Muse contains full text of journals in the humanities and social sciences published by university presses. Includes the following titles in Africa Today, Eastern Africa Social Science Research Review, Northeast African Studies,Research in African Literatures,Transformation: Critical Perspectives on Southern Africa and Transition (archive-only)
NEW YORK PUBLIC LIBRARY WEBSITES
- The Abolition of the Slave TradeEssays, videos, timelines from the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture
Get Research Help
chat loading...
Business and Economics Librarian
Jason Hall
He/Him/His
Contact:
Lemieux Library
Seattle University
2nd Floor Research Services
Seattle University
2nd Floor Research Services
(206) 398-4484
Subjects: Business