Purpose is to preserve documents about the slave trade in archives in Benin, Cape Verde, Gambia, Ghana, Senegal, Argentina, Barbados, Brazil, Colombia, Cuba and Haiti. Some digitized documents available, especially from Cuba.

Combined to produce 14,060 stories about 310 historically significant African Americans. Requires registration (you can opt to decline some questions).

The web site of Dr. Quintard Taylor, Jr., Scott and Dorothy Bullitt Professor of American History at the University of Washington.

Good starting point. Information is segmented in 4 topics: abolition, migration after the Civil War, material from the Works Progress Administration and the Federal Writers Project of the New Deal.

Web site has 30 searchable categories

"The principal focus is on providing links to online presentations concerning African-American archaeology projects." University of Illinois

Digital archives from the collections in the Library of Congress. Includes over 240 items. Exhibition features "Slavery: the Peculiar Institution," "Free Blacks in the Antebellum Period," Abolition," "The Civil War," "Reconstruction." and more...

Duke University

Includes fulltext worls of biography, autobiography, ficiton poetry and essays of 52 African American women

Located at Tulane University since 1987, the Amistad Research Center is the nation's oldest, largest and most comprehensive independent archive
specializing in the history of AfricanAmericans and other Ethnic Minorities.

Sponsored by Quintard Taylor, Univ of Wash. this site has two main sections: general African American History and African Americans in the West. Each section has primary and secondary sources, encyclopedia entries, links to black colleges and more.

Contains more than 2300 first person accounts which were collected in the 1930s as part of the WPA.

Gathered from the Athenaeum, the Boston Society, Historic New England, and Massachusetts Historical Society, there are over 500 items relating to "slavery, the Abolition Movement, free blacks, Civil War, Emanciplation, Reconstruction, rural life..." There are some manuscripts, but also political cartoons, pamphlets, caricatures, broadsides

Abstracts in the database comes from petitions, wills and other documents found at county courts and legislatures in 15 slaveholding states. Users can search by name, slave status, color gender, etc...or browse by subject categories. These categories include "Slave as inheritors," "Slave Executions."

Publisher of the Martin Luther King papers, this web site has some primary documents available to visitors. Includes King Online Encyclopedia.

Links to several online collections including the Abolition of the Slave Trade, Harlem 1900-1940, the African Presence in the Americas 1492-1992

Project deliverable open to the public include index to the FBI files on Malcolm X and the Project Journal which gives access to fulltext articles from the journal Souls. In addition, each page on the life of Malcolm X links to interviews and a bibliography of further readings.. There is also a multimedia section on the website.

Site documents African American Women's social activism: National Alliance of Black Feminists, Women's Army Corps...