Get Research Help
Librarian
Databases
Environmental science draws upon many different disciplines. Search the following science specific databases to look for articles on environmental science topics.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowCitation index for articles in the Science Citation Index and Social Science Citation Index. Coverage includes current year plus a rolling backfile from the past ten years.
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new windowGreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowCreated by the National Library of Medicine and freely available via the internet and international in scope. It comprises more than 22 million citations for biomedical literature from biology, medicine, nursing, and life sciences journals as well as journals from many other fields. Citations may include links to full text content.
(To order an article not owned by SU, work from the full PubMed article record. Click on the SU Full Text Search button in the upper right corner of the screen to find an interlibrary loan request form.) - BIOSIS Previews This link opens in a new windowCitations and abstracts of journal articles, scientific conference proceedings, books, and patents covering the life sciences and biomedical research.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowOnline fulltext scholarly journal articles for a select number of titles the library subscribes to in print.
- AGRICOLA This link opens in a new windowCitations related to agriculture, animal science, chemistry, and natural resources. Books, Serials, AV and other materials are indexed.
- IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new windowAccess to technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. Includes citations and full text from IEEE journals, transactions, conference proceedings & IEE publications.
Some of our databases are less science focused, but may have articles that are relevant to your topic. The interdisciplinary databases below might also be helpful:
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowSearch more than 13,300 periodicals, including full text for nearly 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. It features a mix of interdisciplinary scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers and books.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowExcellent source for full text scholarly journal articles in history, economics, education, philosophy, literature, African studies, Asian studies, African American studies, sociology, political science, science, and psychology.
- Dissertations and theses A & I This link opens in a new windowIncludes citations for dissertations and theses from around the world, ranging from 1861 to those accepted last semester. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts; master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts.
Look up an article by a citation
Use the Library Catalog to search for a specific journal article from its citation. The most useful way to search is to search for the title of the article in quotes. You can also search for a specific journal in the Library's eJournal Search.
- The Library CatalogSearch for a specific article by title!
- eJournal SearchSearch for a specific journal by journal name or ISSN.
Finding Scholarly, Peer-Reviewed Articles
You can find articles on biology topics and interdisciplinary science topics in several of these databases. Many of these databases have search tools that are specific to biology or other science subjects. You can request items that the library does not have access to through Interlibrary Loan at this link.
- Ulrichsweb This link opens in a new windowUlrichsweb is an easy to search source of detailed information on more than 300,000 academic and scholarly journals, e-journals, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and more. Ulrichsweb covers more than 900 subject areas.