Get Research Help
chat loading...
Librarian
General Resources
This guide focuses on resources which have specific usefulness to Computer Science and Software Engineering students. However, many general or interdisciplinary resources are useful while planning a research project. For our best general resources, visit the "Best Places to Start" on our interdisciplinary guide to library databases. Unsure how or where to start a research paper? Don't Panic, try Lemieux Library's 5-step Research Path.
Finding Articles, Papers, and Proceedings
Find Computer Science and Software Engineering information & articles by searching one of the databases below, which the library provides for the SU community.
- ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new windowThe ACM DL is a vast collection of citations and full text from ACM (Association of Computing Machinery) journal and newsletter articles and conference proceedings.
- IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new windowAccess to technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. Includes citations and full text from IEEE journals, transactions, conference proceedings & IEE publications.
Finding Books & E-Books
- O'Reilly Online Learning (formerly Safari Books Online) This link opens in a new windowA collection of over 50,000 ebooks and videos, covering topics in computer science, business and management, personal and career development, engineering, software and Web development, drawing and painting, and travel.
Patent Searches
- United States Patent and Trademark Office (USTPO)The United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) is the Federal agency for granting U.S. patents and registering trademarks. On its website the USPTO offers public access to bibliographic and full-text patent databases of patents from 1976 to the present including full page images from 1790 to the present.
- Fresh PatentsFreshPatents.com (no affiliation with the USPTO) offers free tools to find and track published patent applications, including access to the latest published US patent applications each week before the USPTO decision to grant/deny.
- Google Patent SearchUse Google to search the full text of US Patents.
- pat2pdf.orgA volunteer-run project. Given a patent number, pat2pdf.org will return a free, pdf formated version of the patent.
Related Guides
- Tutorial for New Venture/Entrepreneurship ResearchNeed to find information about how to start a business? Geared especially for classes focused on entrepreneurship as well as the business plan competition, the aim of this guide is to highlight print and online sources which will be useful starting points for student projects and research.
- Electrical & Computer Engineering Research GuideThis guide features resources to help with research on electrical & computer engineering topics.
- Mathematics Research GuideThis guide features resources to help with research on mathematics topics.
Web Resources
- Apple Mac & iOS Developer ProgramsFor developers creating Mac & iOS apps for distribution in Apple's App Stores.
- Microsoft Developer NetworkInformation for developers using Microsoft tools, products, technologies and services.