Get Research Help
Librarian
Biochemistry & Molecular Biology Databases
Use the databases below to search for biochemistry and molecular biology articles. Most of these databases will provide abstracts but many will also link you to the full text article.
If you are looking for a specific journal, you can look up a journal by title in our e-Journal Search.
- BIOSIS Previews This link opens in a new windowCitations and abstracts of journal articles, scientific conference proceedings, books, and patents covering the life sciences and biomedical research.
- American Chemical Society Journals This link opens in a new windowJournal articles & more from the American Chemical Society.
- SciFinderⁿ This link opens in a new windowSearch for references, substances, reactions, patents, suppliers, and other chemical information. CAS SciFindern also includes relevance-ranked results, step-by-step procedures and protocols, citation mapping, sequence searching, retrosynthetic analysis, patent landscape mapping, touch-screen enabled structure drawing and more.
First time users: First time users must register for an account
Useful interdisciplinary databases
Interdisciplinary databases are not focused on biochemical or even science research. However, because they cover such a wide array of topics, they may be useful places to search.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowArticles from scholarly & popular journals on many topics, including biochemistry.
- Research Library This link opens in a new windowExcellent starting point for research. Full text of popular and scholarly journals in a variety of disciplines, including biochemistry.
Useful Biochemistry Journals
- Annual Review of BiochemistryOriginal critical reviews of the significant primary literature and current developments in biochemistry.
- Biochemical JournalContains original refereed papers about all aspects of biochemistry.
- Journal of Biological ChemistryPublishes papers based on original research that are judged, after editorial review, to make a novel and important contribution to the understanding of any area of biochemistry and molecular biology.
- PLoS BiologyContains works of significance in all areas of biological science, from molecules to ecosystems, including works at the interface with other disciplines.
- Trends in Biochemical SciencesInformation on recent developments in a wide range of biochemically based sciences.
Finding Scholarly, Peer-Reviewed Articles
You can find articles on biology topics and interdisciplinary science topics in several of these databases. Many of these databases have search tools that are specific to biology or other science subjects. You can request items that the library does not have access to through Interlibrary Loan at this link.
- Ulrichsweb This link opens in a new windowUlrichsweb is an easy to search source of detailed information on more than 300,000 academic and scholarly journals, e-journals, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and more. Ulrichsweb covers more than 900 subject areas.
Other sources of biochemical documents
- E-Print NetworkDatabase of E-prints from the U.S. Dept of Energy. E-prints are scholarly and professional works electronically produced and shared by researchers with the intent of communicating research findings to colleagues. They may include preprints, reprints, technical reports, conference publications or other means of electronic communication.