Print Background Sources
Witch Hunts in Europe and America by Call Number: BF1584.E9 B87 2003ISBN: 0313321426Publication Date: 2003-10-30Print
Encyclopedia of Witchcraft by Call Number: Ref BF1566 .E56 2006 v 1-4 and onlineISBN: 1576072436Publication Date: 2006-01-30Print
General works (handbooks, dictionaries and encyclopedias) that cover background information for your research. These works are based exclusively on secondary sources
The Oxford Handbook of Witchcraft in Early Modern Europe and Colonial America by Call Number: BF1571 .O94 2013ISBN: 0199578168Publication Date: 2013-05-19PRINT
eBook Background Sources
- Europe 1450-1789: Encyclopedia of the Early Modern WorldISBN: 0684314231
Search the Catalog
- Search Lemieux Library and SummitFind books, videos and other materials in our collection, the SU Law Library, and all 39 Summit Libraries.
For Distance Students who do not have physical access to the Lemieux Library, you have some options to get books for your paper.
- Check your local public library for relevant material. You can request material through interlibrary loan through the public library, but check the whether you have enough time for this transaction
- If you are close to an Orbis Cascade (SUMMIT) library, you can register as a visiting patron and borrow material not at Lemieux Library.
- Request material to be mailed from Lemieux Library. This is a pilot project. Contact Karen Gilles
Some examples of Secondary Print & eBooks from the Catalog
- Interpret primary sources-at least one step removed from the event or phenomenon under review
- Examination of studies that other researchers have made of a subject
- Sources compiling or critiquing original works :literary criticism, biographies, and journal articles critiquing the work of others
- Second Hand-conveys the experiences and opinions of others
- Created over time
- Can be original works collected and organized for a specific audience
- Usually in the form of published works : books, journals, radio and TV documentaries, conference proceedings
Between the Devil and the Host by Call Number: BF1584.P7 O88 2011ISBN: 0199587906Publication Date: 2012-02-15Print Book
Between the devil and the host : imagining witchcraft in early modern Poland
Witchcraze by Call Number: BF1584.E9 B27 1994ISBN: 0062510363Publication Date: 1995-06-24Print Book
Why women? -- The structure of a witch hunt -- Witchcraze in the Central Regions -- Witch hunts on the periphery -- Women and work -- From healers into witches -- Controlling women's bodies -- Keeping women in their place.
Desperate Magic by ISBN: 0801469384Publication Date: 2013-01-01Witchcraft historiography : Russia's divergence -- "Report on this matter to us in Moscow, fully and in truth" : documentation and procedure -- Muscovite prosaic magic and the devil's pale shadow -- Love, sex, and hierarchy : the role of gender in witchcraft accusations -- Undivided spheres : gender and idioms of magic -- "To treat me kindly" : negotiating excess in Muscovite hierarchical relations -- Trials, justice and the logic of torture
Evaluating the Content
- Currency Up-to-date? Does it need to be? Check not only the publication date of the book but the references as well. Multiple editions of a book indicate popularity and frequent updates.
- Reliability What sources did the the author use? Is there a bibliography, footnotes?
- Accuracy Is the information cited properly? well-written?
- Authority Author's qualifications What else has this person published? Assess the author’s qualifications. Look for biographical information. Is the author an expert in the field? What work or educational experiences does the author have? What institutions or organizations does the author claim affiliation? Has the author written other publications? You might want to check reviews of other publications.Publisher: Who Published the book? Is it from an academic press? A credible organization or association? Does the publisher specializes in certain subject areas? If in doubt, check the "about us" section of the publisher's website for more information.
- Purpose Read the book's preface or introduction. Who is the intended audience? Objectivity/Bias? Often the author will present his/her perspective in this section. Scan the table of Contents and Index- Check the index - do the keywords lead you back to an appropriate section of the work. Is the book an overview of a topic and if so, is the material covered sufficiently or is it too broad? If narrow in scope, is it so narrow you will need to go to other sources? Does the title of the book accurately describe the contents of the book? Does the book address a topic from a certain timeframe and/or geographic area?
Tips: catalog searches
Why bother with subject headings?
You will likely be successful finding sources with good keyword searches. This technique is most useful when you only need two or three books on a topic. However, if your want to be more comprehensive, you will want to use both keywords and subject headings.
An easy way to discover subject headings is to indeed start out with a keyword search. Then look at the record and see what subject headings were assigned and then search on the headings.
For historicial topics, there are likely to be multiple headings that you will want to try; in your searching you will see works with both broad and narrow headings.
Here are some Library of Congress Subject Headings which may help you in your search:
- Witchcraft
- Occult
- Magic
- Witchcraft (Trials)
- Church history Middle Ages, 600-1500
- Social history Medieval, 500-1500
- Women Europe History Middle Ages, 500-1500
More............
- Browsing: Make sure to browse the shelves in the call number area of your subject. Books with same or similiar subject are often shelved near each other.
- Snowballing: Check the footnotes and bibliographies in books. You may find references to other sources you can use in your research.
Full-Text Book Database
- Early English Books Online (EEBO) This link opens in a new windowThis databases contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700.
Get Research Help
chat loading...
Mary Linden Sepulveda
Mary Sepulveda
Contact:
206.296.6209
Coordinator of Collection Development, Special Collections & Archives
Coordinator of Collection Development, Special Collections & Archives