News Databases
- News & Newspaper Collection This link opens in a new windowSearches all news and newspaper resources in various ProQuest Newspaper sources including National Newspapers, Washington State Newsstand, and the Western Newsstand.
- Newspaper Source This link opens in a new windowNewspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 national (U.S.) and international newspapers, including the Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times, The Times (London), Toronto Star, etc.
The database also contains selective full text for more than 330 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full-text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR, etc.
National Newspapers
- Christian Science Monitor This link opens in a new windowThe Christian Science Monitor is an international news organization that delivers thoughtful, global coverage.
- Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new windowThere is comprehensive coverage of the Los Angeles Times back to 1985.
- Seattle Times Collection This link opens in a new window-- Seattle Times (1985-current) - text
-- Seattle Times (1985-2018) -- image
-- Seattle Times (2018-current) - image
-- Seattle Times: Web Edition Articles
-- Seattle Times: Blogs (2009-2015)
-- Seattle Daily Times / Seattle Times (1900-1984) - Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new windowThe worlds leading financial newspaper. Comprehensive coverage back to 1984.
- Washington Post This link opens in a new windowThe Washington Post is well known for not only in-depth news and analysis of American politics but also insightful coverage of national and international trends and events. The paper's popularity is evinced by the fact that it is read by more than a million people worldwide.
International Newspapers
- World Press ReviewFeatures translations from thousands of newspapers in more than 20 languages.
- Global PostProduced by Global News Enterprises of Boston since 2009, the site is described as presenting nonpartisan, unbiased information. Arranged geographically, it focuses on political and social issues using a team of 65 reporters in 50 countries
- AllAfrica.comAggregates and indexes content from over 125 news organizations, plus more than 200 other sources.
- Christian Science MonitorWorldwide coverage of news with one year backfile. Use the databases to find more from this newspaper
- World News Network"WN Network’s purpose is to give a truly international perspective on world events. On one site we provide access to over 700 diverse news providers. Although we include major US sources, our speciality is giving equal prominence to European, African, Arabic and Asian sources as well."
Searching for Op-eds
What is an Op-Ed?
An op-ed (Opposite the Editorial page or Opinion Editorial) is an opinion piece that is written by someone not affiliated with the source in which the piece is published. These pieces provide public discourse on current, past and often, hidden issues.
Use the Newspaper Databases to search for Op-Ed's.
- News & Newspaper Collection This link opens in a new window
To locate op-ed pieces:
- Type in your search terms into the search boxes, choose Document Text
- Go to the Document Type box below, and choose either Commentary and/or Editorial.
- Click on Search
- Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
To locate op-ed pieces:
- Type in your search terms into the search boxes
- Go to the Document Type box below, and choose Editorial
- Click on Search to see your results
Related
- Finding News and NewspapersResearch Guide
