Get Research Help
chat loading...
Business and Economics Librarian
Jason Hall
He/Him/His
Contact:
Lemieux Library
Seattle University
2nd Floor Research Services
Seattle University
2nd Floor Research Services
(206) 398-4484
Subjects: Business
General Databases (Multidisciplinary)
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowSearch more than 13,300 periodicals, including full text for nearly 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. It features a mix of interdisciplinary scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers and books.
- ProQuest (all collections) This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary databases including ABI Trade & Industry, National, regional and local newspapers, ProQuest Family Health, ProQuest Religion, and ProQuest Research Library .
For a Historical Perspective...
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowHistoric coverage of the world (excluding the US and Canada) from 1450. Citations and abstracts from 1954 to the present. Includes links to JSTOR and ProjectMUSE. (For research on the U.S. and Canada, use America: History and Life.)
- America: History and Life This link opens in a new windowComplete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowExcellent source for full text scholarly journal articles in history, economics, education, philosophy, literature, African studies, Asian studies, African American studies, sociology, political science, science, and psychology.
Specialized Databases
Following is a list of specialized databases useful in finding articles, working papers, and primary and secondary sources on immigration.
- SocINDEX with/Full Text This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive sociology research database with coverage of not only sociology, but also anthropology, criminal justice, economic development, ethnic and racial studies, gender studies, social psychology, social work, substance abuse and other areas. It provides indexing for more than 600 journals with full text available for more than 300 journals.
- EconLit with Full Text This link opens in a new windowThe premier database for economic literature. This resource provides a comprehensive index of economic journals, books, working papers, and dissertations.
- CIAO This link opens in a new windowColumbia International Affairs Online includes full text working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, and proceedings from conferences; abstracts of journal articles in international affairs.
- Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new windowProvides current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, with cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals, and indexing and abstracts for more than 400 titles.
Search Google Scholar
Selected Journals
- Comparative migration studies (CMS)Comparative migration studies is an international, peer-reviewed open access journal that provides a platform for articles that focus on comparative research in migration, integration, and ethnic studies.
- Crossings: Journal of migration and culture"Crossings provides information about all aspects of migration such as questions of dislocation, travel, borders, diasporic identities, transnational contacts and cultures, cultural memory and questions of hybridity and cultural difference."
- Ethnic and racial studies"Ethnic and Racial Studies aims to be the leading journal for the analysis of the role of race, racism, ethnicity, migration and forms of ethno-nationalism."
- Forced Migration ReviewPublished by the Refugee Studies Centre in the Oxford Department of International Development, University of Oxford.
- International Migrationriginal articles on current migration issues and reviews and analysis of migration trends and issues as analyzed by demographers, economists and sociologists all over the world.
- International migration review"International Migration Review is an interdisciplinary journal created to encourage and facilitate the study of all aspects of sociodemographic, historical, economic, political, legislative and pastoral aspects of human mobility."
- Journal of ethnic and migration studies"The Journal of Ethnic and Migration Studies (JEMS) publishes the results of first-class research on all forms of migration and its consequences, together with articles on ethnic conflict, discrimination, racism, nationalism, citizenship and policies of integration."
- Journal of identity and migration studies"The Journal of Identity and Migration Studies (JIMS) is an open-access semi-annual online review that promotes high quality academic work and is committed to publishing cutting-edge, provocative, and thoughtful scholarship in the field of migration and identity, as well as in other related fields in the social sciences."
- Journal of immigrant and refugee studies"The Journal of Immigrant & Refugee Studies is a double-blind, peer-reviewed publication that is interdisciplinary and international in scope exploring issues such as immigration/emigration, social work and social policy issues related to immigrant and refugee integration. The journal explores the effects of worldwide migration."
- Journal of international migration and integration JIMI"The Journal of International Migration and Integration (JIMI) is a multidisciplinary peer-reviewed scholarly journal that publishes original research papers and policy discussions that enhance the understanding of immigration, settlement and integration and that contribute to policy development."
- Journal of refugee studies"Journal of Refugee Studies provides a forum for exploration of the complex problems of forced migration and national, regional and international responses."
- Migration, mobility, and displacementMigration, Mobility & Displacement is an online, open-access, peer- reviewed journal. It seeks to publish original and innovative scholarly articles, juried thematic essays from migrant advocacy groups and practitioners, and visual essays that speak to migration, mobility and displacement and that relate in diverse ways to the Asia-Pacific.