Library Databases
Databases include searchable indexes for for journals, newspapers, magazines and other collections, often grouped by discipline.
You can find links to all of our databases, as well as subject-specific research guides from our Articles and Databases guide.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowSearch more than 13,300 periodicals, including full text for nearly 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. It features a mix of interdisciplinary scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers and books.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowExcellent source for full text scholarly journal articles in history, economics, education, philosophy, literature, African studies, Asian studies, African American studies, sociology, political science, science, and psychology.
News and Newspapers
Newspapers are an important source of information on current and historical events.
Our News and Newspapers guide provides access to regional. national. international and historical newspaper collections. The following videos provide instructions for using newspaper databases:
- Access World News This link opens in a new windowNews sources from Washington State, US, and around the World. Includes over 170 countries and regions and all 50 states. (Access to this collection is underwritten by the Washington State Library until December 31, 2019)
- News & Newspaper Collection This link opens in a new windowSearches all news and newspaper resources in various ProQuest Newspaper sources including National Newspapers, Washington State Newsstand, and the Western Newsstand.
Video created by University of Alabama Libraries
Google Scholar
While it's not a database, you can use the search engine's Google Scholar search tool to locate peer-reviewed articles, book chapters and other scholarly sources.
You can connect Google Scholar to our library catalog to help locate the full text of articles. See instructions in the video below:
Find Sources Beyond the Library
Outside of the Library, websites provide current and specialized information, often from organizations and government agencies as well as individuals. As with any information you find, evaluate web sources carefully!
Our research guides will often link to credible content on the web in addition to library subscriptions related to specific subjects.
What if I need a source but the Library doesn't have it?
When you're trying to access a source and you hit a paywall, STOP. You can request it through interlibrary loan (ILL)!
Interlibrary Loan is a service through which you can request research materials, such as books, journal articles, book chapters, videos, and other materials that are not available at our library.
When you are searching in Library databases, look for a link that says "search for full text" - from there you will be connected to the Library catalog and prompted to "Request from Another Library." After you have placed your request, you will be notified by email when your requested item is available.