Get Research Help
chat loading...
Mary Linden Sepulveda
Mary Sepulveda
Contact:
206.296.6209
Coordinator of Collection Development, Special Collections & Archives
Coordinator of Collection Development, Special Collections & Archives
Books as Primary Sources
Chronicon Anonymi Cantuariensis by Call Number: DA220 .C559 2008ISBN: 0199297142Publication Date: 2008-08-15
Use the Lemieux Library catalog to find primary sources.
Here are some keywords and headings which may lead you to primary sources in book catalogs:
Sample headings:
Benedictine Spain History
Nuns -Spain
Spain history 711-1516
Spain intellectual life to 711
Spain social conditions to 1800
Women history Middle Ages 500-1500
Subheadings: sources, correspondence, early works to 1800, personal narratives, archives, archival resources, diaries, manuscripts, manuscripts--facsimiles, chronicles, letters, documents, sources
The Letters and Other Writings by Call Number: B765.A21 L48 2007ISBN: 0872208753Publication Date: 2007-03-01
Medieval Italy by Call Number: DG501 .M535 2009ISBN: 0812220587Publication Date: 2010-07-27Includes:A trial for witchcraft at Todi (1428)
PRINT
Chronicles, some to start with
- Peterborough Chronicle 1070-1154DA690 .P47 A49
- Conquerors and chroniclers of early medieval SpainDP96 .C66 1999
Myths, Sagas, and Miracle Stories a sampler
Documents and Laws, some examples
LIBRARY DATABASES
- Early English Books Online (EEBO) This link opens in a new windowThis databases contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700.
- Perdita manuscripts: women writers, 1500-1700 This link opens in a new windowComplete facsimile images of over 230 manuscripts written or compiled by women living in the British Isles during the 16th and 17th centuries. Contents include account books, advice, culinary writing, meditation, travel writing, and verse.
OPEN ACCESS
- Canterbury TalesOn this site from the British Library are two versions of Caxton's work, one from 1476 and the other from 1483.
- Catalogue of Digitized Medieval ManuscriptsSponsored by UCLA, this database of worldwide manuscripts can be searched by title, author, language, shelfmark and location. Links to almost 1000 manuscripts by nearly 200 authors in many languages.
- Epistolae: Medieval Women's Letters"Epistolæ is a collection of letters to and from women in the Middle Ages, from the 4th to the 13th century. The letters, written in Latin, are linked to the names of the women involved, with English translations and, where available, biographical sketches of the women and some description of the subject matter or the historic context of the letter."
- Internet Medieval SourcebookDeveloped by Paul Hallsall at Fordham, this aim of this resource to provide teachers and students of Medieval history with an online collection of historical documents in translation.
- Luminarium:Anthology of English LiteratureContains both secondary and primary resources. Writers include Chaucer, Gower, Kempe, Mallory, Lydgate, Paston Letters and more
- Roman de la Rose Digital LibraryA joint project of the Bibliotheque nationale de France and John Hopkins, the goal of the Roman de la Rose Digital Library is to create an online library of all manuscripts containing the Roman de la Rose poem
- Soldier in Later Medieval EnglandProduced by the University of Reading, contains some 250,000 service records of English Soldiers who were in the Hundred Years War. Names, rank, service years are in 3 databases (muster,protection, Normandy Garrison). Website does not include help information.
- Islamic Heritage ProjectProject has digitized more than 600 primary source Islamic maps, texts and manuscripts. Scope of project is from the 10thc to the present and covers law, science, history, geography, literature, philosophy and more. Source objects are in many languages (most titles are not in English) and searchable in English.
- Manuscripts and Princes in Medieval and Renaissance Europe"These were the books that once belonged exclusively to emperors and kings. Now 34 of the most significant manuscripts from the collections of Carolingian Emperors, the Aragonese kings of Naples and French King Charles V and his family are on display in our virtual exhibition: Manuscripts and Princes in Medieval and Renaissance Europe."
- Digital Scriptorium"The Digital Scriptorium is a growing image database of medieval and renaissance manuscripts that unites scattered resources from many institutions into an international tool for teaching and scholarly research. "
- Bibliothèque virtuelle des manuscrits médiévaux (BVMM),Digital Medieval Manuscripts from French Libraries.
- Austrian Literature OnlineALO is a digital library with more than 15.000 documents from the 11. Century up to the present. Books, journals, newspapers, manuscripts, theses and scientific essays are available in digitized form or as PDF.
- Bayerische Landesbibliothek OnlineBavarian Digital Collection: Medieval Manuscripts, Newspapers and other digitization projects
- e-rara16th century Swiss rare books
- Historici.nl > Books off the shelfThe Rijks Geschiedkundige Publicatiën (RGP) is a series of source editions, the first volume of which was published in 1905. Today, the series comprises 450 volumes that contain documents about the history of the Netherlands. Includes some medieval documents.
- Mediceo Avanti il PrincipatoRegistration required. Digitized Medici documents from the 14th to 16th centuries
More Examples of Print Sources
Here are some examples of print sources in the collection:
- Arab historians of the CrusadesD151 .G313 1969
- Historical French reader, medieval periodPC2825 .S8 1967
- Medieval saints : a readerBX4654 .M43 1999
- Recueil des historiens des Gaules et de la FranceDC3.R46 1869 Includes some source material up to 1328 in vols. 24-24
- Regesta regum anglo-normannorum 1066-1154DA190 .G79 v-3-4
- The 'Templar of Tyre' : Part III of the 'Deeds of the Cypriots'D177 .C4713 2003