Get Research Help
chat loading...
Librarian
Marine & Conservation Biology Databases
Find marine biology articles in scientific journals by searching one of the databases below. These databases are specialized search engines that the library provides for the SU community.
If you are looking for a specific journal, you can look up a journal by title in our e-Journal Search.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowArticles from popular magazines and scholarly journals, including marine biology journals.
- BIOSIS Previews This link opens in a new windowHuge database of biology information. Has only citations & abstracts (no full articles).
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowWide range of articles, with PDFs of full articles always available. Includes 15 journals in the "Aquatic Sciences" category; over 200 in the "Biology" category.
Other useful databases
- AGRICOLA This link opens in a new windowCitations related to agriculture, animal science, chemistry, and natural resources. Books, Serials, AV and other materials are indexed.
- American Chemical Society Journals This link opens in a new windowFull text peer-reviewed journals for chemical and related sciences.
- Research Library This link opens in a new windowSearch nearly 2800 full-text periodicals, including magazines and scholarly journals. Some articles about marine biology available.
- SciFinderⁿ This link opens in a new windowSearch for references, substances, reactions, patents, suppliers, and other chemical information. CAS SciFindern also includes relevance-ranked results, step-by-step procedures and protocols, citation mapping, sequence searching, retrosynthetic analysis, patent landscape mapping, touch-screen enabled structure drawing and more.
First time users: First time users must register for an account
Search the Lemieux Library for Journals
To search for the name of a journal, select "Advanced Search" and then select "ejournal search" from the menu on the top of the page. Search by title or by ISSN.
An ISSN is a 8 digit code used to identify journals, magazines and other periodicals. It's like an ISBN for a book.