General Information Sources
Browsing reference materials is an excellent way to find background information.
- Sage KnowledgeFull text social science reference source with good coverage of social issues and conflicts. Good source for background information.
- Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new windowSummarizes current issues and controversies in political, economic, social and scientific topics. From Facts on File.
- Europa WorldOnline version of the Europa World Year Book, a source of information on world-wide affairs. Covers political and economic information in over 250 countries and territories, from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe.
- Political Handbook of the World [E-book]Provides thorough information on the major aspects of each country's government and political party system. As a convenient, one-volume print source for global political information, each edition features country profiles.
- Oxford Companion to Politics of the World. 2nd ed. [E-book]This online version of the second ed. reflects the changing world with a reassessment of many of the core themes of the previous edition, and new articles on the people, concepts, and events that have shaped the world since 1993.
Research Path
5 Step Research Path
- Choose a topic
- Find background information
- Find more information
- Evaluate your information
- Cite your sources
Searching Databases - Boolean Searching
- Navigating DatabasesSome quick tips on how to use Boolean terms to get the most out of your database searches.
- Using Boolean in DatabasesA handout with some tips and tricks for working with database search engines.
- Advanced Boolean SearchingA guide by Colorado State on how to use advanced Boolean techniques to create refined searches.
Get Research Help
chat loading...
Business and Economics Librarian
Jason Hall
He/Him/His
Contact:
Lemieux Library
Seattle University
2nd Floor Research Services
Seattle University
2nd Floor Research Services
(206) 398-4484