Get Research Help
chat loading...
Contact
Discipline Specific Databases
- Indigenous Histories and Cultures of North America This link opens in a new windowPrimary source materials (including manuscripts, artwork, and rare printed books) providing insight into interactions between American Indians and Europeans from their earliest contact to the civil rights movement of the mid-twentieth century.
- America: History and Life This link opens in a new windowComplete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
- Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new windowGender Studies Database combines Women’s Studies International and Men’s Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. GSD covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. This database includes more than 921,000 records with coverage spanning from 1972 and earlier to the present.
- SocINDEX with/Full Text This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive sociology research database with coverage of not only sociology, but also anthropology, criminal justice, economic development, ethnic and racial studies, gender studies, social psychology, social work, substance abuse and other areas. It provides indexing for more than 600 journals with full text available for more than 300 journals.
Online Resources
- Edward S. Curtis Digital CollectionThis Seattle Public Library digital collection includes images from the portfolios of his most famous work - The North American Indian.
- American Indians of the Pacific Northwest CollectionUniversity of Washington Digital Collection includes introductory essays, 2300 original photographs and 1500 pages of textual sources about the Northwest Coast and Plateau Indian cultures constitute an award-winning project developed for the Library of Congress' American Memory in partnership with the Museum of History and Industry and the Northwest Museum of Arts & Culture.
- The Plateau Peoples' Web PortalThis Portal is a gateway to Plateau peoples' cultural materials held in multiple repositories including WSU's Manuscripts, Archives and Special Collections, the Northwest Museum of Art and Culture, the National Anthropological Archives and the National Museum of the American Indian at the Smithsonian Institution. The materials in the Portal have been chosen and curated by tribal representatives. Each item has one or more records associated with it as well as added traditional knowledge and cultural narratives to enhance and enrich understanding to many audiences.
- Washington TribesWashingtontribes.org is a public education program sponsored by the Washington Indian Gaming Association (WIGA) to raise awareness about how tribal government investments are benefiting everyone in Washington.
Professional Academic Organizations
- Native American and Indigenous Studies Association (NAISA)NAISA is an interdisciplinary, international membership-based organization, comprised of scholars working in the fields of Native American and Indigenous Studies, broadly defined.
- Association for the Study of American Indian Literatures (ASAIL)ASAIL is a professional academic organization created to promote the study, criticism, and research of American Indian written and oral literary traditions.
- American Indian Science and Engineering Society (AISES)AISES is a national, nonprofit organization focused on substantially increasing the representation of American Indians, Alaska Natives, Native Hawaiians, Pacific Islanders, First Nations and other indigenous peoples of North America in science, technology, engineering and math (STEM) studies and careers.
- Native American Art Studies Association (NAASA)NAASA exists to encourage the ongoing study and exchange of ideas on Native American art north of the Rio Grande and including the First Nations of Canada.