Get Research Help
Business and Economics Librarian
Seattle University
2nd Floor Research Services
United Nations
UNdata is the United Nations' statistical database that includes data published by the UN and its affiliated agencies.
With over 60 million data cells, this source covers the following topics and more: Agriculture, Balance of payments, Communication and culture, Construction, Development assistance, Education, Energy and environment, Finance, Health, Households and families, Housing, Income and consumption, Industry, Labor, Foreign trade, Prices, Population, Science and technology, Services industry, Public welfare, Public safety.
- Glossary can be searched in categories: demographic, environment, population estimates and projections.
- Metadata provides descriptions of each of the UN databases: also links to home page and other features
- More (Country): Statistical summary pages for countries
- Databases: Here the databases are organized by categories
- Country Data Services: Links to national statistical offices
- UNdata This link opens in a new window
Tutorial to UNdata
Courtesy of University of Warwick Library
World Bank
- Open Knowledge RepositoryThe World Bank Open Knowledge Repository (OKR) is The World Bank’s official open access repository for its research outputs and knowledge products.
- Open DataThe Open Data Initiative with more than 2,000 indicators for over 200 countries some going back 50 years.
UN Comtrade
What? UN Comtrade, or the United Nations Commodity Trade Statistics Database, is a comprehensive source for trade data. It provides access to trade information detailed by commodity and partner country for over 170 countries.
Data Source? Created by data reported by member countries to the United Nations Statistical Division.
- Values are converted into US dollars
- Quantities are converted into metric
- Commodities are organized by HS 2002 (SITC classification)
Size and Time Series? Largest portal for trade data, with over one billion records with time series back to 1962.
CIA World Factbook
The World Factbook is produced annually by the Central Intelligence Agency. The documents contain information and statistics for most countries around the world.
Source Information: The CIA World Factbook is an aggregator of information. Most of the information in the factbook comes from other agencies and private sources. However, there is no bibliography of sources or citations within the country profile