Get Research Help
Librarian
ECE handbooks & dictionaries
You can use the library's catalog, known as Primo, for handbooks and other reference works. Search using keywords of your choice and terms like "handbook" or "dictionary" to search for similar works. Other sources for finding handbooks and similar texts are identified below.
- ENGnetBASE This link opens in a new windowFulltext access to engineering handbooks. Coverage includes biomedical engineering, digital signal processing, electric power engineering, electrical engineering, environmental engineering, mechanical engineering, mobile communications, structural engineering, telecommunications, and vibration.
- Gale Virtual Reference Ebooks This link opens in a new windowElectronic reference books for business, religion, medicine, social sciences, history, etc.
- O'Reilly Online Learning (formerly Safari Books Online) This link opens in a new windowA collection of over 50,000 ebooks and videos, covering topics in computer science, business and management, personal and career development, engineering, software and Web development, drawing and painting, and travel.
- Comprehensive dictionary of electrical engineering2005 e-book from Taylor & Francis
- The electrical engineering handbook1997 e-book from CRC Press
- The engineering handbook2005 e-book from CRC.
- The handbook of MPEG applications: standards in practice2011 e-book from Wiley
- The mechatronics handbook2002 e-book from CRC Press.
Reference and Physical Data
- eFundaShort for engineering Fundamentals, this site has basic engineering information for quick reference in materials, design, processes, unit conversion, formulas, and mathematics.
- Engineers EdgeOnline design, engineering and manufacturing resources.
- Physical Reference DataData from the National Institute of Standards and Technology, U.S. Department of Commerce
Technical Books
Engineering books can be found on the fifth floor of the library.
Books are a core resource in engineering, and you can use the library catalog as well as browsing the shelves of the engineering collection to find books for your research.
Access the catalog here.
Browsing the collection is a great way to find valuable books that slip through a typical library catalog search. In academic libraries in the US, books are grouped by subject and the call numbers correspond to those subjects. T covers technology related topics.
| Call Number | Subject |
| TA | Engineering (General). Civil engineering |
| TC | Hydraulic engineering. Ocean engineering |
| TD | Environmental technology. Sanitary engineering |
| TE | Highway engineering. Roads and pavements |
| TF | Railroad engineering and operation |
| TG | Bridge engineering |
| TH | Building construction |
| TJ | Mechanical engineering and machinery |
| TK | Electrical engineering. Electronics. Nuclear engineering |
| TL | Motor vehicles. Aeronautics. Astronautics |
| TN | Mining engineering. Metallurgy |
| TP | Chemical technology |
| TS | Manufactures |
Click on this link to see the Library of Congress Classification Outline for more information.
Source materials
- ThomasNetFind suppliers for various products.