Special Collections Research Guide
The Lemieux Library has some specials collections you can use (by appointment only).  Some examples below from the University Archives and History Collection (find the full list here - on the map, hover over "seattle" to choose Seattle University)

• SU Oral History Recordings (collection of interviews with prominent women associated with SU as part of an oral history project title Celebrating 70 Years of Women at Seattle University, 1933-2003)
• SU Japanese Remembrance Garden Records - (Seattle University Committee for the Japanese Remembrance Garden - contains planning documents, minutes, and reports of the committee (2004-2006). It also includes artifacts, news clippings, photographs and memorabilia relevant to family histories and internment at Minidoka Relocation Center in Idaho during World War Two, as well as selected sermons and photographs of Father Leopold H. Tibesar, a Maryknoll priest.)
• Chapel of St. Ignatius Collection - The Chapel of St. Ignatius on the campus of Seattle University is an award winning architectural sacred space designed by world renowned architect Steven Holl. The materials in this collection document the history of the Chapel of St. Ignatius from the initial project proposal in 1991 through the design, construction and dedication in 1997. The collection includes architectural drawings, artifacts, committee minutes, graphic materials, moving images, award certificates and textual materials.

Seattle Public Library staff can help you with your projects!  They have the Seattle Room that include their Special Collections and staff available to help you.

Seattle Room Hours
Monday - Thursday: 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
Friday: Closed
Saturday - Sunday: 1 p.m. - 5 p.m.

• The Seattle Collection (at the Central Library)
  The Seattle Collection contains items about Seattle's history and includes published materials, Seattle city documents, newspaper clippings, maps and atlases, high school yearbooks, oral histories and more than 30,000 photographs, including photos of historic Seattle, Native Americans, streets, businesses and portraits. The collection also features paintings, drawings, metalwork, sculpture, prints and photographs, and includes works by notable local artists such as Paul Horiuchi, George Tsutakawa and Frank Okada. 
• Aviation History Collection (at the Central Library)
  The Aviation History Collection focuses on the early days of aviation, especially relating to the design, manufacturing and marketing of airplanes from 1930 to 1950. The collection includes publications from the Boeing, Curtiss and Douglas companies and early materials in German and French. The collection does not include current technical materials.  The Aviation History Collection is located in The Maffei Family Aviation Room on Level 7 and is available upon request.
  
  
• African-American Collection (at the Douglass-Truth Branch)
  The Douglass-Truth Library houses one of the largest collections of African-American literature and history on the West Coast. A building expansion in 2006 greatly expanded shelf space for the collection. Researchers and students will find many helpful resources.  The collection has a strong emphasis on Northwest materials and Seattle-area history with pamphlets, fliers and posters on local leaders and issues. Contemporary titles are regularly added.

Some of the Special Collections are available online:

• SPL Special Collection Online
  The Seattle Public Library's digital collections include digitized materials selected from the Library's special collections. Use the search box at the top of the page to search across all collections, or click the links on the left to view individual collections. 

How to get a SPL Library Card - http://www.spl.org/using-the-library/get-started/free-library-service-areas