Get Research Help
Librarian
Finding Peer-Reviewed Articles and Conference Proceedings
You can find engineering articles and interdisciplinary science articles in several of these databases. Some of the databases have search tools specific to engineering.
You can use these databases to find:
- Journals and articles
- Conference Proceedings
You can request items the library does not have through this link to Resource Sharing.
Conference proceedings can be found through this link to Primo, Seattle University's main catalog. When searching for conference proceedings, search for unique words from the conference title as a keyword search. Conference proceedings are sometimes cataloged like a book or sometimes cataloged like a journal, so they can be tricky to find.
Databases
- ASCE Research Library This link opens in a new windowProvides abstracts to all the society's journals, conference proceedings, books, standards, manuals, magazines, and newsletters. Full text journal articles available only for selected titles from ASCE.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowSearch more than 13,300 periodicals, including full text for nearly 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. It features a mix of interdisciplinary scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers and books.
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new windowGreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowExcellent source for full text scholarly journal articles in history, economics, education, philosophy, literature, African studies, Asian studies, African American studies, sociology, political science, science, and psychology.
- Energy Citations DatabaseFind science, technology, and engineering research information from the US Department of Energy.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowOnline fulltext scholarly journal articles for a select number of titles the library subscribes to in print.
E-journals related to civil & environmental engineering
Below are some of the library's e-journals related to civil and environmental engineering.
Find more journals by searching or browsing the library's journal subscriptions.
- ACI Structural JournalPeer-reviewed journal that focuses on the structural design and analysis of concrete elements and structures.
- Journal of Environmental EngineeringPeer-reviewed articles on research and problems in the field of environmental engineering, such as risk assessment, wastewater management, sanitation, regulatory compliance, hazardous waste pollution, and treatment.
- Journal of Hydraulic EngineeringPublishes analysis and solutions of problems in hydraulic engineering, hydrology, and water resources
- Journal of Urban Planning and DevelopmentPublishes articles on civil engineering as it relates to urban planning, areawide transportation, the coordination of planning and programming of public works and utilities, and the development and redevelopment of urban areas.
- Water ResearchPeer-reviewed journal that covers all aspects of the pollution of ground water, marine and fresh water, and the management of water resources and water quality.