Get Research Help
chat loading...
Librarian
Finding Scholarly, Peer-Reviewed Articles
You can find articles on chemical topics and interdisciplinary science topics in several of these databases. Many of these databases have search tools that are specific to chemistry or other science subjects. You can request items that the library does not have access to through Interlibrary Loan at this link.
- Ulrichsweb This link opens in a new windowUlrichsweb is a database of detailed information on various journals. Useful for determining whether a particular journal is peer reviewed.
Databases for Finding Articles
- SciFinderⁿ This link opens in a new windowSearch for references, substances, reactions, patents, suppliers, and other chemical information. CAS SciFindern also includes relevance-ranked results, step-by-step procedures and protocols, citation mapping, sequence searching, retrosynthetic analysis, patent landscape mapping, touch-screen enabled structure drawing and more.
First time users: First time users must register for an account
- SciFinder Scholar New User RegistrationFirst-time Scifinder users must register for access.
- American Chemical Society Journals This link opens in a new windowFull text peer-reviewed journals for chemical and related sciences.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowCreated by the National Library of Medicine and freely available via the internet and international in scope. It comprises more than 22 million citations for biomedical literature from biology, medicine, nursing, and life sciences journals as well as journals from many other fields. Citations may include links to full text content.
(To order an article not owned by SU, work from the full PubMed article record. Click on the SU Full Text Search button in the upper right corner of the screen to find an interlibrary loan request form.) - ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowOnline fulltext scholarly journal articles for a select number of titles the library subscribes to in print.
- IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new windowAccess to technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. Includes citations and full text from IEEE journals, transactions, conference proceedings & IEE publications.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowSearch more than 13,300 periodicals, including full text for nearly 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. It features a mix of interdisciplinary scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers and books.
Browse for articles and books
Another option for finding literature is browsing the physical shelves. Print materials are located on the 5th floor. The following call numbers are:
| Call # | Subject |
|---|---|
| QD1-999 | Chemistry |
| QD1-65 | General |
| QD71-142 | Analytical |
| QD146-197 | Inorganic |
| QD241-441 | Organic |
| QD450-882 | Physical & Theoretical |
| QD901-999 | Crystallography |
Top 5 - chemistry journals
|
Here are five choice Chemistry Journals. SU has access to many more chemistry journal titles. Search for more journals through the library's advanced search. You can also browse our catalog's e-journals search. |
- Accounts of Chemical ResearchInformation on major advances in basic research and applications. Brief, critical articles cover diverse areas of chemical research.
- Angewandte ChemieGeneral chemistry journal, with a mix of review articles, highlights, and communications.
- Chemical ReviewsProvides comprehensive critical analyses in all fields of chemistry: organic, inorganic, physical, analytical, theoretical, and biological.
- Journal of Organic ChemistryOffers the organic chemist critical accounts of original work in a given field, and interpretative reviews of existing data that present new viewpoints.
- Journal of the American Chemical SocietyDocuments advances in all areas of chemical research. Publishes papers across a wide range of chemistry, presenting new methodologies applied to important problems, new synthetic methods, novel theoretical advances and significant new results on structures and reactions.
Procedural information
- Organic SynthesesUseful database of organic chemistry procedures