Subject Guide
Welcome to Higher Education Law!
The guide features resources and links to help you in researching legal issues in Higher Education.
Databases - Academic Research
Best Places to Start - Interdisciplinary Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowSearch more than 13,300 periodicals, including full text for nearly 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. It features a mix of interdisciplinary scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers and books.
- Research Library This link opens in a new windowSearch more than 5,000 titles, over 3,500 in full text. It features a mix of interdisciplinary scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowExcellent source for full text scholarly journal articles in history, economics, education, philosophy, literature, African studies, Asian studies, African American studies, sociology, political science, science, and psychology.
Education Databases
- Education Research Complete This link opens in a new windowIndexing and abstracts for more than 1,500 journals. Full text for more than 750 journals, and includes full text for more than 100 books and monographs, and for numerous education-related conference papers.
- ERIC This link opens in a new windowLeading indexing resource for articles and reports in education including assessment and evaluation, elementary, higher education, technology, and teacher education.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowProvides citations and abstracts of journal articles, books, dissertations and reports in the field of psychology and other related fields.
Other Useful Resources
- Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new windowThe newspaper for higher education. Full-text articles directly from the publisher, 1995 to present. For full text before 1995, try ProQuest Research Library.
- Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new windowFull text, indexing, and abstracts for communications & mass media.
- Dissertations @ Seattle University This link opens in a new windowFull text downloadable PDFs of Seattle University dissertations submitted to UMIDAI since 1996.
- Educational Administration Abstracts This link opens in a new windowBibliographic records covering areas related to educational administration, management and leadership.
- Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new windowGender Studies Database combines Women’s Studies International and Men’s Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. GSD covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. This database includes more than 921,000 records with coverage spanning from 1972 and earlier to the present.
- News & NewspapersA Library Guide created to help you navigate the SU Newspaper subscriptions. Provides links to major national outlets, local, historical, and international sources.
- WorldCat (the OCLC Online Union Catalog) This link opens in a new windowOnline catalog from OCLC member libraries worldwide; request materials through interlibrary loan.
Databases - Legal Research
Best Places to Start - Legal Research
- Google ScholarGoogle Scholar provides full text access to Federal and State Court Decisions, and some Law Review materials.
- The Legal Information InstituteThis website provides full text access to both Federal and State legal codes, statutes and regulations, full text access to Supreme Court decisions, an online law dictionary, and finding tools to help you identify important Supreme Court cases by topic or citation.
Legal Research - The Basics!
The Law of Higher Education by ISBN: 9781119271949Publication Date: 2020-02-25A single-volume eBook text that distills information for students Based on the sixth edition of Kaplin and Lee's indispensable guide to the law that bears on the conduct of higher education, The Law of Higher Education, Sixth Edition: Student Version provides an up-to-date reference and guide for coursework in higher education law and programs preparing law students and higher education administrators for leadership roles. This student edition discusses the most significant areas of the law for college and university attorneys and administrators. Each chapter is introduced by a discussion of key terms and topics the students will encounter, and the book includes materials from the full sixth edition that are most relevant to student interests and classroom instruction. It also contains a "crosswalk" that keys sections of the Student Edition to counterpart sections of the two-volume treatise. Complements the full version Includes a glossary of legal terms and an appendix on how to read legal material for students without legal training Discusses key terms in each chapter Concentrates on key topics students will need to know This is fundamental reading for law students preparing for careers in higher education law and for graduate students in higher education administration programs.
The Law of Higher Education by ISBN: 111955120XPublication Date: 2019-04-04Written by recognized experts in the field, the 2019 edition of The Law of Higher Education offers college administrators, legal counsel, and researchers with up-to-date, comprehensive coverage of the legal implications of administrative decision making.
- The US Legal SystemThis guide has been put together by the SU Law Library, and provides you with basic information about the legal system in the United States.
- SU Law Library GuidesResearch guides, created by the SU Law Library, on a variety of subjects.
Legal Research - Law Databases
*Please note that these databases can be very complicated! If you're having difficulty finding information, please contact Chris (granatic@seattleu.edu), Stephanie (wilsons3@seattleu.edu) or one of the SU Law Librarians for assistance.
- Legal Collection This link opens in a new windowThis database contains full text for nearly 250 of the world's most respected, scholarly law journals. The Legal Collection is an authoritative source for information on current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world.
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new windowHeinOnline has more than 100 million pages of legal history available in an online, fully-searchable, image-based format. HeinOnline bridges holscreenshotthe gap in legal history by providing comprehensive coverage from inception of more than 1,800 law and law-related periodicals. In addition to its vast collection of law journals, HeinOnline also contains the Congressional Record Bound volumes in entirety, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, famous world trials dating back to the early 1700′s, legal classics from the 16th to the 20th centuries, the United Nations and League of Nations Treaty Series, all United States Treaties, the Federal Register from inception in 1936, the CFR from inception in 1938, and much more.
- Washington State Judicial Opinions WebsiteThe Washington State Judicial Opinions Website provides free public access to the precedential, published appellate decisions from the Washington State Supreme Court and Court of Appeals.
Tips for Using Databases
Searching Databases - Boolean Searching
- Navigating DatabasesSome quick tips on how to use Boolean terms to get the most out of your database searches.
- Using Boolean in DatabasesA handout with some tips and tricks for working with database search engines.
- Advanced Boolean SearchingA guide by Colorado State on how to use advanced Boolean techniques to create refined searches.
Citing Guides
APA Style
Additional Resources
- RefWorks This link opens in a new windowRefWorks is an online research management, writing and collaboration tool designed to gather, organize, store information and to generate citations and bibliographies.
PLEASE NOTE:With consideration for rising costs, low usage, and the availability of free and open-source citation management tools, we will be canceling our subscription to RefWorks effective December 31, 2024. The library currently recommends and will continue to support Zotero, a free and open-source citation management tool with the same functions and features as RefWorks.
For additional information and support during this transition period, including workshops on migrating your RefWorks citations, please visit the RefWorks Transition Page
- Journal Citation Reports This link opens in a new windowEvaluate and compare journals using citation data and impact factor drawn from over 7,500 scholarly and technical journals in the Science and Social Sciences fields.