UCOR 1600: How Does the United Nations Work?

Links to the UN library's catalog records, General Assembly and Security Council voting records, and speeches in major UN organs

Searchable gateway to United Nations documentation since 1993, including resolutions from major UN organs since 1946

The United Nations Treaty Series (UNTS) is a publication produced by the Secretariat of the United Nations containing all treaties and international agreements registered or filed and recorded by the Secretariat since 1945, pursuant to Article 102 of the Charter. Previously only available in printed format, the UNTS is now available as a fully-searchable on-line database. To search for a specific treaty or group of treaties please use the Advanced Search tool.

Indexes speeches in the Regular Assembly. Covers 1983-to date.

More indepth explanation of the intricacies of the UN publishing system

Links to searches for member states across UN databases including key documents related to country membership in the UN, statements made before principal organs, draft resolutions, periodic reports on Human Rights conventions, and more.

A comprehensive global search, discovery, and viewing source for digital content created by the United Nations. Users cannot download publications because Seattle University does not subscribe, but publications can be read online for free.

Monitors UN activities

Everything that is going on at the UN, includes news and meeting summaries, links to the UN Radio and TV sites, and more.

Subject guides to key United Nations publications covering a wide range of topics, including international law, human rights, economic development, peacekeeping, and more.

Links of Organizations from Infoplease

ICC provides a forum for businesses and other organizations to examine and better comprehend the nature and significance of the major shifts taking place in the world economy.

The International Labour Organization (ILO) is devoted to promoting social justice and internationally recognized human and labour rights, pursuing its founding mission that labour peace is essential to prosperity.

The mission of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) is to promote policies that will improve the economic and social well-being of people around the world.

The World Bank serves as a source of financial and technical assistance to developing countries around the world. Their mission is to fight poverty and to help people help themselves and their environment by providing resources, sharing knowledge, building capacity and forging partnerships in the public and private sectors.

Administers WTO trade agreements. Provides technical assistance and training for developing countries

The IMF monitors the world's economies, lends to members in economic difficulty, and provides technical assistance.

WHO is the directing and coordinating authority for health within the United Nations system. It is responsible for providing leadership on global health matters, shaping the health research agenda, setting norms and standards, articulating evidence-based policy options, providing technical support to countries and monitoring and assessing health trends.

The World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) is the United Nations agency dedicated to the use of intellectual property (patents, copyright, trademarks, designs, etc.) as a means of stimulating innovation and creativity.

The African Union is a union consisting of 54 African states. The most important decisions of the AU are made by the Assembly of the African Union, a semi-annual meeting of the heads of state and government of its member states.

The OAS brings together all 35 independent states of the Americas and constitutes the main political, juridical, and social governmental forum in the Hemisphere

Website of the Council of Europe.

The Association of Southeast Asian Nations, or ASEAN, was established on 8 August 1967 in Bangkok, Thailand, with the signing of the ASEAN Declaration (Bangkok Declaration) by the Founding Fathers of ASEAN, namely Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore and Thailand.

The EU is a unique economic and political partnership between 27 European countries that together cover much of the continent.

The North Atlantic Treaty Organization’s fundamental purpose is to safeguard the freedom and security of its members through political and military means. NATO
brings together 28 member countries from Europe and North America, consulting
and cooperating in the fields of security and defence.

Since 1975, the heads of state or government of the major industrial democracies have been meeting annually to deal with the major economic and political issues facing their domestic societies and the international community as a whole.

The primary vehicle for promoting open trade and practical economic cooperation in the Asia-Pacific Region.

Provides emergency assistance and development programs in small-business support, health care, nutrition, family planning, girl's education, agriculture, and the environment.

Independent, nonpartisan, nonprofit organization dedicated to research and education at the nexus of ethics and international affairs.

Monitors global policy-making at the United Nations. Topics include the UN financial crisis, Security Council reform, social and economic policy, and events and resources.

Founded in 1924 as a non-profit, non-partisan, tax-exempt organization devoted to international understanding, multilateralism and the peaceful resolution of conflict.

Amnesty International is a global movement of more than 3 million supporters, members and activists in more than 150 countries and territories who campaign to end grave abuses of human rights.

Clearing house for information on over 40,000 international organizations and constituencies. The site also includes information on The Yearbook of International Organizations and The Encyclopedia of World Problems and Human Potential. Over 11,000 web pages are listed on this site, accessible through table.

Gateway to hundreds of international institutions and their information resources.