UCOR 1440: Women's Rights as Human Rights

Human Rights Watch is one of the world’s leading independent organizations dedicated to defending and protecting human rights. Includes summaries of conditions in each country as compiled by the staff of Human Rights Watch.

Useful page from the UN's Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights with links to the status of every member of the UN vis-a-vis human rights.

Submitted annually by the U.S. Department of State to the U.S. Congress.

Amnesty International is a global movement of more than 3 million supporters, members and activists in more than 150 countries and territories who campaign to end grave abuses of human rights.

Amnesty International Archives presents the archival records of the International Secretariat of Amnesty International from the period of 1961-1991.

Reporters Without Borders (RSF) defends the right of every human being to have access to free and reliable information. This right is essential to know, understand, form an opinion and take action on vital issues in full awareness, both individually and collectively.

Provides easy access to country-specific human rights information emanating from international human rights mechanisms in the United Nations system: the Treaty Bodies, the Special Procedures and the Universal Periodic Review (UPR).

The IACHR is a principal and autonomous organ of the Organization of American States (“OAS”) whose mission is to promote and protect human rights in the American hemisphere.

The African Centre for Democracy and Human Rights Studies (ACDHRS) is independent, non-profit regional human rights NGO based in Banjul, The Gambia.

The African Charter established the African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights. The Commission’s Secretariat has subsequently been located in Banjul, The Gambia.
In addition to performing any other tasks, which may be entrusted to it by the Assembly of Heads of State and Government, the Commission is officially charged with three major functions: the protection of human and peoples' rights; the promotion of human and peoples' rights; and the interpretation of the African Charter on Human and Peoples' Rights.

The International Centre for the Legal Protection of Human Rights case law databases include summaries from significant human rights decisions from domestic commonwealth courts and tribunals applying human rights law.

Access to 856 multilateral conventions on Environmental Law, Human Rights, Humanitarian Law and Law of the Sea.

Links to many of the most important human rights treaties. When possible links to authoritative ratification information.

The Human Rights Web Archive is an initiative by Columbia University Libraries to select, preserve, and provide access to freely available internet resources, specifically addressing at-risk websites in the area of human rights.

The Asian Human Rights Commission (AHRC) was founded in 1986 by a prominent group of jurists and human rights activists in Asia. The AHRC is an independent, non-governmental body, which seeks to promote greater awareness and realisation of human rights in the Asian region.

Non-profit organization whose stated mission is "to defend and preserve the individual rights and liberties guaranteed to every person in this country by the Constitution and laws of the United States."

From Yale Law School

Contains information on the human rights activities of the UN.

Provides easy access to country-specific human rights information emanating from international human rights mechanisms in the United Nations system: the Treaty Bodies, the Special Procedures and the Universal Periodic Review (UPR).

Useful page from the UN's Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights with links to the status of every member of the UN vis-a-vis human rights.

Full text of many UN documents, extending back as older documents are added. UN Resolutions, including those of the General Assembly, Security Council, Economic and Social Concil, and Trusteeship Council, are also included.

Each page of the Historic Archives is devoted to a particular legal instrument. It contains a brief introduction to the instrument prepared by an eminent international law scholar or practitioner with special expertise on the subject, information on its procedural history and related documents, as well as the text and status of the instrument. Each legal instrument is accompanied by audiovisual materials, as available, including film footage, audio recordings and photos, relating to the negotiation and adoption of the instrument at meetings or diplomatic conferences.

The IACHR is a principal and autonomous organ of the Organization of American States (“OAS”) whose mission is to promote and protect human rights in the American hemisphere.

The African Union is a union consisting of 54 African states. The most important decisions of the AU are made by the Assembly of the African Union, a semi-annual meeting of the heads of state and government of its member states.

The OAS brings together all 35 independent states of the Americas and constitutes the main political, juridical, and social governmental forum in the Hemisphere.

Website of the Council of Europe’s Directorate General of Human Rights and Rule of Law.

The World Bank serves as a source of financial and technical assistance to developing countries around the world. Their mission is to fight poverty and to help people help themselves and their environment by providing resources, sharing knowledge, building capacity and forging partnerships in the public and private sectors.

WHO is the directing and coordinating authority for health within the United Nations system. It is responsible for providing leadership on global health matters, shaping the health research agenda, setting norms and standards, articulating evidence-based policy options, providing technical support to countries and monitoring and assessing health trends.

The World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) is the United Nations agency dedicated to the use of intellectual property (patents, copyright, trademarks, designs, etc.) as a means of stimulating innovation and creativity.

Administers WTO trade agreements. Provides technical assistance and training for developing countries

The International Labour Organization (ILO) is devoted to promoting social justice and internationally recognized human and labour rights, pursuing its founding mission that labour peace is essential to prosperity.

The IMF monitors the world's economies, lends to members in economic difficulty, and provides technical assistance.

UNESCO’s mission is to contribute to the building of peace, the eradication of poverty, sustainable development and intercultural dialogue through education, the sciences, culture, communication and information.

Official site containing decisions of the ICJ, the principal judicial body of the United Nations. The ICJ hears cases between nation states. The site includes a list of pending cases, the basic documents governing its operation and other information about the Court.

ICC is an official organ of the United Nations. The ICC is charged to "try persons charged with genocide or other crimes of similar gravity."

This court, part of the Organization of American States (OAS), considers cases involving human rights abuses in the Americas. Its website includes the Court's rules of procedure, decisions and advisory opinions, annual reports and other publications.

The International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea is an independent judicial body established by the Convention to adjudicate disputes arising out of the interpretation and application of the Convention.

This court was created in 1950 under the European Convention of Human Rights. Its website contains administrative texts, case law, annual reports, and pending cases.

This is the judicial arm of the EU, and it resolves conflicts between EU members that involve EU treaties and legislation. Its website contains basic information about the Court and its parent, the EU; annual reports; a digest of case law; case annotations; and links to national and international legal sites.

Established by the African Charter on Human and Peoples' Rights, the African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights is charged withthree major functions: the protection of human and peoples' rights; the promotion of human and peoples' rights; and the interpretation of the African Charter on Human and Peoples' Rights.

Alphabetical, Australia - United Kingdom

This site is a resource for French, German, Austrian and Israeli legal materials in the fields of constitutional, administrative, contract and tort law. The English translations of decisions from Germany and France include cases from the Reichsgericht, the Bundesverfassungsgericht, the Bundesgerichtshof, the Conseil Constitutionnel, the Conseil d’Etat and the Cour de Cassation.